Strong third period carries Gophers women over UMD

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: March 8, 2014 - 7:50 PM

– The Gophers women’s hockey team scored three goals in the third period to beat Minnesota Duluth 4-1 on Friday in the semifinals of the WCHA’s Final Face-off at the Sanford Center.

Rachael Bona scored at 7:47 of the final period on a power play to give the No. 1-rated Gophers (35-1-1) a 2-1 lead. Milica Millen made it 3-1 about six minutes later. And Dani Cameranesi got the final goal with 50 seconds left.

The Gophers will play North Dakota in Saturday’s championship game. UND edged Wisconsin 1-0 on Meghan Dufault’s goal in the second period. Shelby Amsley-Benzie had 35 saves for the shutout.

In the second semifinal, the Bulldogs (15-15-6) took a 1-0 lead in the second period on Katerina Mrazova’s first goal of the season. But Kelly Terry answered with her 18th goal of the season for the Gophers before the period ended.

Amanda Leveille had 21 saves for the Gophers, Kayla Black 32 for UMD.

• The Gophers received all five major WCHA awards Thursday night at a pretournament banquet. Sophomore Hannah Brandt was named the conference player of the year, Terry the student-athlete of the year, junior Rachel Ramsey the defensive player of the year, and freshman Cameranesi the rookie of the year.

• President Obama invited the team to visit the White House on Monday so he can recognize them for their national title and 41-0 record in the 2012-13 season.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Philadelphia - WP: A. Harang 5 FINAL
Washington - LP: J. Zimmermann 3
Atlanta - LP: S. Marimon 5 FINAL
Toronto - WP: B. Cecil 6
Chicago WSox - WP: C. Sale 12 FINAL
Detroit - LP: A. Sanchez 3
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 4 FINAL
Minnesota - LP: P. Hughes 2
Cincinnati - LP: H. Bailey 2 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: C. Martinez 5
San Diego 5 Top 9th Inning
Chicago Cubs 6
Baltimore 0 Top 4th Inning
Boston 0
Milwaukee - K. Lohse 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - J. Locke
Miami - M. Latos 6:10 PM
NY Mets - J. deGrom
LA Angels - C. Wilson 6:10 PM
Houston - D. Keuchel
NY Yankees - M. Tanaka 6:10 PM
Tampa Bay - J. Odorizzi
Oakland - J. Hahn 6:10 PM
Kansas City - Y. Ventura
Arizona - R. De La Rosa 8:05 PM
San Francisco - C. Heston
Colorado - J. Lyles 8:10 PM
Los Angeles - Z. Greinke
Texas - C. Lewis 8:10 PM
Seattle - F. Hernandez
Washington 93 FINAL
Toronto 86
New Orleans 54 3rd Qtr 4:54
Golden State 72
Milwaukee 6:00 PM
Dallas 8:30 PM
Minnesota 0 3rd Prd
St. Louis 2
Detroit 0 3rd Prd 16:05
Tampa Bay 4
Pittsburgh 7:00 PM
NY Rangers
Winnipeg 9:30 PM
Houston 6:00 PM
Orlando City 6:30 PM
Toronto FC 7:30 PM
FC Dallas
Seattle 8:00 PM
Vancouver FC 8:30 PM
Real Salt Lake
Sporting Kansas City 9:30 PM
Los Angeles


question of the day

Poll: Who will be the Wild's MVP against St. Louis?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters