Class 2A girls' hockey quarterfinals: Eden Prairie 4, Andover 2

  • Updated: February 20, 2014 - 10:41 PM

Andover’s McKenzie Sederberg and Eden Prairie’s Angie Heppelmann fought over the puck during the first period of Eden Prairie’s 4-2 victory in Thursday’s Class 2A girls’ hockey quarterfinals.


CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Andover had the lead and a hot goaltender Thursday, but Eden Prairie came back to avoid an upset in the Class 2A girls’ hockey quarterfinals.

Charly Dahlquist scored the tying and go-ahead goals as No. 3 seeded Eden Prairie advanced with a 4-2 victory at Xcel Energy Center.

Maddie Rooney made 26 saves for Andover (16-10-3), which is making its first state tournament appearance.

Huskies fans roared when Abbie Turpin scored to take a 2-1 lead late in the second period. But Dahlquist answered with a goal 58 seconds later.

At 1:40 of the third period, Dahlquist sent a shot over Rooney’s shoulder and into the net’s upper left corner, giving Eden Prairie (21-7) its first lead.

“[Rooney] definitely knows where she is in the net, and there’s not a lot of space to score,” said Dahlquist, the daughter of former North Stars defenseman Chris Dahlquist. “So I was surprised on that goal. I usually don’t go top shelf.”

Kate Rydland added an empty-net goal for the Eagles, who will play No. 2 seeded Hill-Murray in Friday night’s semifinals. The Pioneers defeated Eden Prairie 5-0 back in November, but Eagles coach Jaime Grossman said that was atypical.

“Every time we play them, it’s a one-goal game,” he said. “We scrimmaged them late in the year. We both had a bye, they came to us, and it was a back-and-forth game. To me, it’s going to be a game like this [close win over Andover].”

Joe Christensen

  • related content

  • Girls State Hockey Tournament - Class 2A - Roseau Rams vs. Benilde-St. Margaret's Red Knights. Rams Josee Lundgren (13) and Red Knights Heather Mostrom (6) skated after the puck. (MARLIN LEVISON/STARTRIBUNE(

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


St. Louis - WP: L. Lynn 4 FINAL
Washington - LP: J. Zimmermann 3
Toronto - WP: M. Buehrle 5 FINAL
Cleveland - LP: C. Kluber 0
LA Angels - LP: C. Wilson 2 FINAL
Detroit - WP: M. Scherzer 5
Baltimore - LP: B. Norris 2 FINAL
Boston - WP: J. Tazawa 4
Minnesota - LP: K. Correia 4 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: B. Chen 5
Cincinnati - LP: T. Cingrani 4 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: E. Jackson 8
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 3 FINAL
Oakland - WP: D. Otero 4
Milwaukee - WP: J. Henderson 8 FINAL
Pittsburgh - LP: J. Grilli 7
Atlanta - WP: E. Santana 7 FINAL
NY Mets - LP: B. Colon 5
NY Yankees - LP: I. Nova 1 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: C. Archer 16
Seattle - LP: R. Elias 0 FINAL
Miami - WP: H. Alvarez 7
Chicago WSox - LP: J. Quintana 3 FINAL
Texas - WP: C. Lewis 6
Philadelphia - LP: K. Kendrick 1 FINAL
Colorado - WP: J. Lyles 3
Arizona - LP: M. Bolsinger 6 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: D. Haren 8
San Francisco - LP: T. Hudson 1 FINAL
San Diego - WP: E. Stults 3
Brooklyn 94 FINAL
Toronto 87
Golden State 109 FINAL
LA Clippers 105
Atlanta 101 FINAL
Indiana 93
Memphis 86 FINAL
Oklahoma City 100
Chicago 3 FINAL(OT)
St. Louis 4
Columbus 4 FINAL(OT)
Pittsburgh 3
Minnesota 2 FINAL
Colorado 4
Houston 0 FINAL
Philadelphia 0
New England 1 FINAL
Chicago 1
San Jose 0 FINAL
Colorado 0
Los Angeles 2 FINAL
Vancouver FC 2
Columbus 1
Toronto FC 1 FINAL
FC Dallas 2
Montreal 0 FINAL
Sporting Kansas City 4
Portland 0 FINAL
Real Salt Lake 1
Seattle 2 FINAL
Chivas USA 1





question of the day

Poll: Which quarterback is best in the NFL draft?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters