Girls hockey celebrates 20th state tournament

  • Article by: DAVID LA VAQUE , Star Tribune
  • Updated: February 18, 2014 - 10:37 PM

The 20th girls’ hockey state tournament starts Wednesday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. The Star Tribune takes a look back.


Members of the Stillwater girls hockey team lined up for the playing of the national athem, before the start of the first girls sanctioned hockey tournment ever held in the United States. Stillwater played Apple Valley in the game.

Photo: File photo by JERRY HOLT •,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


Ronda Engelhardt recently popped a tape into the VCR — Google it, kids — to relive old high school glories.

Back in the late 1990s she was known as Ronda Curtin, a dominant player in the budding sport of girls’ hockey. She helped Roseville to undefeated championship seasons in 1996 and 1999, a time when many varsity players were recent imports from boys’ hockey, figure skating or ringette.

The 20th girls’ hockey state tournament starts Wednesday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. Now Breck’s girls’ hockey coach, Engelhardt said today’s game features more players who are faster, stronger and more skilled.

But tipping the cap to her fellow pioneers, Engelhardt said she has yet to see a player faster than Natalie Darwitz or one who dominated like Krissy Wendell.

“As a whole, the game is better today,” Engelhardt said. “And the state tournament is a big tradition. Girls are coming up with a goal to play there and that’s awesome.”

Dropping the puck

Stillwater’s Jenny Ginkel scores the first goal as the nation’s first girls’ hockey state tournament opens on Feb. 24, 1995. The next day ends with Apple Valley’s 2-0 defeat of South St. Paul. The four-team tournament is attended by enthusiastic fans who form deep lines for tickets at Aldrich Arena in Maplewood.

First phenom

A precocious seventh-grader from Eagan — future Gopher and Olympian Natalie Darwitz — scores nine goals and adds three assists in the first eight-team tournament in 1997. But Eagan falls 6-3 in the title game to Hibbing/Chisholm/Nashwauk-Keewatin, the only outstate team to win a single class girls’ hockey ­championship.


Krissy Wendell caps a dominant two-year stretch by recording a hat trick for Park Center in its 6-0 victory over Anoka in the 2000 state championship game. Wendell scores a combined 219 goals in two seasons of girls’ hockey — 109 as a junior, 110 as a senior.

Trading places

Bloomington Jefferson wins its first state title in 2001 with a 2-1 victory over Blaine in the title game. The Jaguars’ Larissa Luther, a forward/defender who switched to goalie midway through her senior season, outduels Blaine goalie Jody Horak, the Star Tribune’s co-Metro Player of the Year.


Two-class tourney

The tournament splits into two classes in 2002, with eight teams in Class 2A and four in Class 1A. Benilde-St. Margaret’s wins the Class A title. South St. Paul, after 27 trips to state by the boys and three by the girls without winning a title, claims the Class 2A title with a 2-1 victory over White Bear Lake.


  • related content

  • Amy Petersen (#9 top right) scored the game winning goal in the 6th Overtime period against Eden Prairie.

  • Defending state champion Roseville took on Stillwater in hockey Monday night at Roseville Arena. -- Roseville√ås Ronda Curtin stickhandles between a couple of Stillwater defenders during a game last December at the Roseville Ice Arena.

  • Natalie Darwitz

  • Breck’s Milica McMillen

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Chicago WSox - LP: J. Guerra 2 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: B. Shaw 3
Pittsburgh - LP: F. Liriano 3 FINAL
Cincinnati - WP: J. Cueto 6
Miami - LP: B. Hand 1 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 9
Washington - WP: T. Roark 10 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: K. Kendrick 3
Toronto - LP: R. Dickey 0 FINAL
Tampa Bay - WP: D. Price 3
St. Louis - LP: C. Martinez 2 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: W. Peralta 11
Boston - WP: C. Buchholz 11 FINAL
Houston - LP: B. Peacock 0
Detroit - LP: J. Verlander 2 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: Y. Ventura 5
Atlanta - WP: J. Teheran 10 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: T. Wood 7
LA Angels - WP: T. Skaggs 10 FINAL
Texas - LP: S. Baker 7
Arizona - LP: V. Nuno 4 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 8
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 0 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: H. Ryu 1
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 13 FINAL
Colorado - LP: B. Anderson 5
Oakland - WP: S. Gray 4 FINAL
Seattle - LP: C. Young 1
NY Yankees - LP: C. Whitley 1 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: K. Gausman 3
Portland 0 FINAL
Seattle 2
Winnipeg 34 FINAL
Montreal 33
Ottawa 11 FINAL
Edmonton 27
Calgary 34 FINAL
Toronto 15
Brt Columbia 26 FINAL
Saskatchewan 13
Los Angeles 90 FINAL
Connecticut 64
Seattle 60 FINAL
Minnesota 77
San Antonio 61 FINAL
Phoenix 90
Chicago 79 FINAL
Atlanta 81





question of the day

Poll: Who will win the Home Run Derby?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters