Top five Heisman Trophy candidates for 2013

  • Updated: August 27, 2013 - 9:46 PM

Heisman Watch

1. Johnny Manziel Qb, Texas A&M

Why he could win: He’s Johnny Football, the most electric player in college football. He makes the kind of splash plays that end up on highlight packages, and he seems to thrive under the spotlight.

Why he won’t: The NCAA investigation into allegations he sold his autograph could throw Manziel’s season into disarray. Plus, it’s hard to repeat as Heisman winner because expectations are so high.

2. Braxton Miller QB, Ohio State

Why he could win: Miller is a perfect dual-threat quarterback in Urban Meyer’s system. Plus, he has the Ohio State PR machine and the Buckeyes should be in national title discussion.

Why he won’t: Manziel’s rushing, passing and touchdown totals were far superior to Miller’s last season. Miller will need to close that gap.

3. Jadeveon Clowney DE, South Carolina

Why he could win: He’s a freakish athlete who created a national buzz with his jarring hit on Michigan running back Vincent Smith in the Outback Bowl. Every sack or big hit will get national hype.

Why he won’t: It’s hard for defensive players to win because voters love offensive statistics. Plus, Clowney probably will face constant double teams.

4. AJ McCarron QB, Alabama

Why he could win: He plays quarterback for the best program in college football. He’ll play well, win a lot of games and have Brent Musburger to fawn over his model girlfriend.

Why he won’t: He might not put up video game numbers against stout SEC defenses.

5. Teddy Bridgewater QB, Louisville

Why he could win: He made big strides last season and should be even better this season. A soft schedule will help, especially if Louisville stays in national title race.

Why he won’t: He doesn’t have the same national profile as the guys ahead of him or play in one of the premier conferences.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Los Angeles - LP: P. Maholm 7 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: V. Worley 12
San Francisco - WP: G. Kontos 9 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: J. Manship 6
Texas - LP: N. Tepesch 1 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: J. Francis 2
Boston - LP: J. Peavy 3 FINAL
Toronto - WP: J. Happ 7
Miami - WP: J. Turner 6 FINAL
Atlanta - LP: M. Minor 5
San Diego - LP: E. Stults 0 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: K. Hendricks 6
Cincinnati - LP: S. LeCure 3 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: F. Rodriguez 4
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 8 FINAL
Minnesota - LP: Y. Pino 2
Kansas City - WP: B. Chen 7 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: S. Carroll 1
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 7 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: A. Wainwright 2
Washington - WP: C. Stammen 7 FINAL
Colorado - LP: B. Brown 4
Detroit - LP: P. Coke 4 FINAL
Arizona - WP: E. De La Rosa 5
Houston - WP: D. Downs 3 FINAL
Oakland - LP: F. Abad 2
Baltimore - WP: M. Gonzalez 4 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: M. Morin 2
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: E. Ramirez 1
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Tulsa 93 FINAL
San Antonio 95
Atlanta 108 FINAL
Minnesota 112
Indiana 57 FINAL
Chicago 60
Phoenix 89 FINAL
Seattle 71





question of the day

Poll: Which uniform will Kevin Love wear next season?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters