New 14-team Northwest Suburban Conference moves ahead

  • Article by: DAVID LA VAQUE
  • Updated: August 23, 2013 - 12:33 PM

The addition of Irondale, Spring Lake Park and Totino-Grace drew no objections from activities directors who met Friday.

A new 14-team Northwest Suburban Conference in the Twin Cities metro area appears to be a go.

Conference activities directors met Friday morning to discuss whether to appeal the placement of three additional schools starting in 2014-15.

Irondale, Spring Lake Park and Totino-Grace were informed of their NWSC placement earlier this week. None of the three schools will appeal, their activities directors said. No objections were heard on Friday.

“It looks like we’re going to move ahead as a conference of 14 schools,” NWSC executive secretary Dan Dehnicke said Friday.

Dehnicke said activities directors will go back to their school principals and superintendents one more time to ensure they are on board. Any concerns must be brought up by Tuesday, Dehnicke said, because an appeal must be sent to the Minnesota State High School League by 4 p.m. next Thursday. An appeal must be approved by at least nine of the 11 current member schools.

Conversation during Friday’s two-hour meeting was all about changes needed for the new-look conference, Dehnicke said.

“We’re moving ahead,” Dehnicke said. “These are good schools and good people and it’s going to be a great conference. And a big one.”

Irondale, Spring Lake Park and Totino-Grace are members of the North Suburban Conference, which is dissolving after the 2013-14 school year.

The high school league's placement committee used four criteria for its decision: geography, enrollment, programs offered and conference structure.

The current full-fledged NWSC member schools are Andover, Anoka,Blaine, Centennial, Champlin Park, Coon Rapids, Elk River, Maple Grove, Osseo, Park Center and Robbinsdale Armstrong. Totino-Grace is in its second season as a football-only member of the NWSC. 

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Boston - LP: R. De La Rosa 0 FINAL
Toronto - WP: M. Stroman 8
San Francisco - LP: T. Hudson 1 FINAL
Philadelphia - WP: C. Hamels 2
Texas - LP: C. Lewis 2 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: B. McCarthy 4
Houston 1 Bottom 4th Inning
Oakland 3
Miami - H. Alvarez 6:10 PM
Atlanta - A. Harang
San Diego - T. Ross 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - E. Jackson
NY Mets - D. Gee 7:10 PM
Milwaukee - M. Garza
Chicago WSox - H. Noesi 7:10 PM
Minnesota - P. Hughes
Cleveland - C. Kluber 7:10 PM
Kansas City - D. Duffy
Detroit - M. Scherzer 9:05 PM
LA Angels - G. Richards
Baltimore - W. Chen 9:10 PM
Seattle - H. Iwakuma
Montreal 9:00 PM
Real Salt Lake
Calgary 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
New York 9:00 PM
Phoenix 9:30 PM
Los Angeles





question of the day

Poll: Which uniform will Kevin Love wear next season?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters