State tennis preview: Best boys' player is a mystery, for once

  • Article by: JIM PAULSEN , Star Tribune
  • Updated: June 4, 2013 - 1:54 AM

Four-time champ Dusty Boyer graduated in 2012, so the field has opened for many challengers.


Edina's Max Olson.

Photo: Bruce Bisping, Star Tribune

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Forest Lake’s Dusty Boyer won his state-record fourth consecutive title last year, then graduated and took his game to the University of Nebraska.

In his place is a slew of high-quality players, all of whom can claim a legitimate shot at winning a crown.

“Absolutely it’s more interesting,” Edina coach Gary Aasen said. “There are a lot of really good players involved. Even if they don’t think they can win it, there are guys who think they can get to the semifinals or finals. There’s a lot more hunger.”

If a favorite had be determined, it would be Edina junior Max Olson. A 6-3 righthander with a powerful serve and deft hands around the net, Olson earned the tournament’s No. 1 seed in this, the first year that the Minnesota State High School League has seeded the tournament.

“I wouldn’t say he’s the most talented, but he’s got the most weapons,” Aasen said.

But Olson isn’t a lock. After being No. 1 in the Tennis Coaches Association rank ings for the first half of the season, he had a lull, which included a loss to Elk River sophomore Josh Gearou.

“I’m not sure what happened,” Aasen said. “He played a lot of matches against some very good players in a short period of time. He may have been a little beat up and tired.”

Olson rebounded and won the Section 5 title, beating Minneapolis South’s Jesse Sprinkel in the finals.

He challengers include Boyer’s younger brother Toby, an undefeated sophomore who earned the No. 2 seed; Sprinkel, who is seeded No. 3 and was ranked No. 1 through the final stages of the regular season; and No. 4 seed Zach Ekstein of Eagan, who brings a 22-1 record to the field. Gearou also is in the mix, as is Minnetonka junior Joel (formerly Joey) Richards and Burnsville junior Tom McCallie.

The Class 2A team competition has a much more orderly feel. No. 1-seeded Wayzata, the deepest team in the tournament, is favored over Elk River, the defending champion and the No. 2 seed.

In Class 1A, everything likely will come down to archrivals Blake and Breck. The 1A field isn’t seeded. But with Blake ranked first and Breck second in the coaches association rankings — and in opposite brackets — a finals match between the two is a near certainty.

“The players [on Blake and Breck] know each other on and off the court and many are friends, so it is always a great match,” Blake coach Ted Warner said.

Expect two-time singles champion Myles Tang of Breck to square off against Blake sophomore Charlie Adams in the singles final while the Blake pairing of Kai Skallerud and Taylor Parr looks tough to beat in the doubles field.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


St. Louis 2
Pittsburgh 4 FINAL
Atlanta 2
Miami 7 FINAL
Washington 11
Detroit 4 FINAL
Philadelphia 4
Minnesota 6 FINAL
Baltimore 5
NY Yankees 7 FINAL
Houston 0
Tampa Bay 2 FINAL
Boston 3
Baltimore 4 FINAL
Toronto 2
Cincinnati 8 FINAL
LA Angels 6
Chicago Cubs 7 FINAL
Kansas City 0
Los Angeles 9 FINAL
San Francisco 11
Chicago WSox 4 FINAL
Cleveland 1
Milwaukee 0 FINAL
Oakland 7
Seattle 5 FINAL
San Diego 8
Texas 5 FINAL
Los Angeles 10
Colorado 11 FINAL
Arizona 10
Arizona 1 FINAL
Colorado 2
Houston 99 FINAL
Washington 91
LA Lakers 99 FINAL
Brooklyn 107
Minnesota 88 FINAL
New Orleans 110
Philadelphia 86 FINAL
Cleveland 87
Detroit 102 FINAL
Miami 109
LA Clippers 119 FINAL
Boston 106
Dallas 99 FINAL
Indiana 104
Memphis 89 FINAL
San Antonio 103
Oklahoma City 109 FINAL
Phoenix 97
Washington 5 FINAL
NY Rangers 2
Calgary 5 FINAL
Nashville 2
Boston 2 FINAL(OT)
Carolina 1
Detroit 4 FINAL
NY Islanders 5
Florida 4 FINAL
Ottawa 2
Anaheim 2 FINAL
New Jersey 1
Chicago 4 FINAL
Winnipeg 3
San Jose 2 FINAL(SO)
Pittsburgh 3
Michigan State 76 FINAL
Louisville 70
Gonzaga 52 FINAL
Duke 66
Philadelphia 0 FINAL
Chicago 1
Toronto FC 1 FINAL
Real Salt Lake 2
(7) Florida State 74 FINAL
(3) South Carolina 80
Villanova 70 FINAL
West Virginia 75
Michigan 69 FINAL
Southern Miss 60
Temple 69 FINAL
Middle Tennessee 57
Siena 50 FINAL
Louisiana 52
St Marys-CA 66 FINAL
(5) Baylor 68 FINAL
(2) Notre Dame 77


question of the day

Poll: Will Major League Soccer be successful in Minnesota?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters