Minnesota State loses in Division II baseball title game

  • Article by: NEWS SERVICES
  • Updated: June 1, 2013 - 11:15 PM

The Mavericks lost 8-2 to top-rated Tampa in the national championship game.

– Minnesota State Mankato’s baseball winning streak ended Saturday at 13 games.

The University of Tampa beat the Mavericks 8-2 in the championship game of the NCAA Division II tournament to win its sixth national title.

MSU Mankato, after taking third place a year ago, was making its first appearance in the championship game. And it didn’t go well. Harvey Martin, the national Division II pitcher of the year, started for the Mavericks but was gone after failing to retire a batter in the second inning.

The Spartans scored five runs on six hits that inning to take a 5-0 lead. Martin (9-1) gave up two singles and then three consecutive doubles, which made it 4-0 Tampa before reliever T.J. Larson came in. Six MSU pitchers combined for 13 strikeouts.

The Mavericks two runs came in the fourth inning on a throwing error and in the ninth on Lucas Skjefte’s RBI-single. Stetson Olson was 3-for-3 for MSU Mankato and Parker Sullivan 3-for-5.

Tampa (46-13) was the nation’s No. 1-rated team in its division, the Mavericks (42-9) were No. 2.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Toronto - LP: A. Loup 4 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: J. Outman 6
LA Angels - LP: H. Santiago 1 FINAL
Detroit - WP: R. Porcello 2
Atlanta - LP: G. Schlosser 3 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: J. Valverde 4
Seattle - LP: T. Wilhelmsen 2 FINAL
Miami - WP: M. Dunn 3
St. Louis - LP: S. Maness 2 FINAL
Washington - WP: R. Soriano 3
Milwaukee - WP: Z. Duke 3 FINAL
Pittsburgh - LP: J. Gomez 2
NY Yankees - WP: P. Claiborne 5 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: H. Bell 1
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 8 FINAL
Kansas City - LP: Y. Ventura 3
Cincinnati - WP: H. Bailey 8 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: C. Villanueva 2
Chicago WSox - WP: E. Johnson 16 FINAL
Texas - LP: R. Ross Jr. 2
Houston - LP: B. Peacock 1 FINAL
Oakland - WP: J. Chavez 4
Philadelphia - WP: J. Diekman 10 FINAL
Colorado - LP: M. Belisle 9
San Francisco - WP: T. Lincecum 4 FINAL
San Diego - LP: R. Erlin 3
Arizona - LP: J. Collmenter 1 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: J. Wright 4
Baltimore - LP: B. Matusz 5 FINAL
Boston - WP: E. Mujica 6
Dallas 85 FINAL
San Antonio 90
Charlotte 88 FINAL
Miami 99
Washington 102 FINAL
Chicago 93
Portland 122 FINAL
Houston 120
Philadelphia 4 FINAL
NY Rangers 2
Detroit 1 FINAL
Boston 4
Tampa Bay 2 FINAL
Montreal 3
Los Angeles 2 FINAL
San Jose 7





question of the day

Poll: Which quarterback is best in the NFL draft?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters