Nine present or past Gophers have shot at Olympic women's hockey team

  • Updated: April 30, 2013 - 9:50 PM

Nine current or former Gophers are among the 41 hockey players invited to the U.S. women’s national team selection camp in Lake Placid, N.Y., from June 16 to 23.

Nine current or former Gophers are among the 41 hockey players invited to the U.S. women’s national team selection camp in Lake Placid, N.Y., from June 16 to 23. The camp will be used to pick the national team, which will train together and participate in various competitions before the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, from Feb. 8 to 20.

Gophers with eligibility left going to the camp are forwards Hannah Brandt and Amanda Kessel, and defensemen Milica McMillen and Lee Stecklein.

Former Gophers or players who were seniors this season with a chance at the Olympic team are forwards Sarah Erickson and Jen Schoullis, and defensemen Megan Bozek, Gigi Marvin and Anne Schleper.

The final 21-player U.S. Olympic women’s team roster is expected to be announced in late December.

• All 10 members of Minnesota’s congressional delegation have sent a letter to President Obama, urging him to invite the Gophers women’s hockey team to the White House. The team went undefeated and won its second consecutive NCCA title.

Austrian joining U swim team

Jakub Maly of Vienna, Austria, signed a national letter of intent to swim for the Gophers. He placed in the top 20 in four events at the 2012 European Short Course Championships. “Jakub is an elite athlete who already brings international and world class swimming with him to Minnesota,” Gophers coach Kelly Kremer said in a news release.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Los Angeles - LP: P. Maholm 7 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: V. Worley 12
San Francisco - WP: G. Kontos 9 FINAL
Philadelphia - LP: J. Manship 6
Texas - LP: N. Tepesch 1 FINAL
NY Yankees - WP: J. Francis 2
Boston - LP: J. Peavy 3 FINAL
Toronto - WP: J. Happ 7
Miami - WP: J. Turner 6 FINAL
Atlanta - LP: M. Minor 5
San Diego - LP: E. Stults 0 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - WP: K. Hendricks 6
Cincinnati - LP: S. LeCure 3 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: F. Rodriguez 4
Cleveland - WP: D. Salazar 8 FINAL
Minnesota - LP: Y. Pino 2
Kansas City - WP: B. Chen 7 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: S. Carroll 1
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 7 FINAL
St. Louis - LP: A. Wainwright 2
Washington - WP: C. Stammen 7 FINAL
Colorado - LP: B. Brown 4
Detroit - LP: P. Coke 4 FINAL
Arizona - WP: E. De La Rosa 5
Houston - WP: D. Downs 3 FINAL
Oakland - LP: F. Abad 2
Baltimore - WP: M. Gonzalez 4 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: M. Morin 2
NY Mets - WP: J. deGrom 3 FINAL
Seattle - LP: E. Ramirez 1
Calgary 7/24/14 8:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/25/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 7/26/14 6:00 PM
Toronto 7/26/14 9:00 PM
Winnipeg 7/31/14 6:00 PM
Tulsa 93 FINAL
San Antonio 95
Atlanta 108 FINAL
Minnesota 112
Indiana 57 FINAL
Chicago 60
Phoenix 89 FINAL
Seattle 71





question of the day

Poll: Which uniform will Kevin Love wear next season?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters