Seven Twin Cities schools to form new Metro West conference

  • Article by: DEREK WETMORE , Star Tribune
  • Updated: March 5, 2013 - 10:49 PM

The Metro West, with schools from four conferences, plans to start playing games in 2014-15.


Seven metro-area high schools, led by Chaska and Chanhassen, have announced the formation of a new conference called Metro West in a move that appears to signal the demise of the Missota Conference.

Chaska and Chanhassen said in a news release Tuesday that they will leave the eight-member Missota to create the Metro West starting in the 2014-15 school year. They will be joined by Bloomington Jefferson, Bloomington Kennedy, St. Louis Park, Richfield and Cooper.

The schools said the new conference offers “balance of competition’’ between midsize schools. Chaska and Chanhassen, in the southwest metro area, also cited location as a factor, noting that families in their district align themselves more with the metro area than southeastern Minnesota.

The Missota has already lost Farmington to the South Suburban. Shakopee is seeking permission to make the same move. Another Missota member, Red Wing, wants to join its old conference, the Big Nine. Shakopee’s and Red Wing’s departure await votes by conference principals this month.

If all those teams do leave, only Holy Angels, New Prague and Northfield would remain in the Missota. New Prague athletic director Brad Skogerboe said the Missota could survive by adding schools. But other Missota athletic directors said it seems much more likely the conference would disband. The remaining schools could form a new conference or, separately or jointly, join an existing one.

Skogerboe said it would be “a sad day’’ if the conference were to dissolve. “We’re going to do everything in our power to keep it together,” he said.

The new conference draws the Bloomington schools from the South Suburban, Cooper and St. Louis Park from the North Suburban and Richfield from the Classic Suburban.

The South Suburban will likely stabilize at 10 schools, according to George Vasiliou, the conference’s executive secretary. The North Suburban will lose two of its 11 schools, and three others have been invited to join the Mississippi 8.

Chaska, formerly of the Lake Conference, and Chanhassen, which opened in 2009, joined the Missota in the fall of 2010. They have been exploring the idea of a new conference since last school year.


Derek Wetmore is a University of Minnesota student reporter on assignment for the Star Tribune.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Buffalo 12/28/14 12:00 PM
New England
Cleveland 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Dallas 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Indianapolis 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Jacksonville 12/28/14 12:00 PM
San Diego 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
NY Jets 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Philadelphia 12/28/14 12:00 PM
NY Giants
New Orleans 12/28/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Carolina 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Detroit 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay
Oakland 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Arizona 12/28/14 3:25 PM
San Francisco
St. Louis 12/28/14 3:25 PM
Cincinnati 12/28/14 7:30 PM
Brooklyn 109 FINAL
Boston 107
Cleveland 98 FINAL
Orlando 89
Indiana 109 FINAL
Detroit 119
Milwaukee 107 FINAL
Atlanta 77
Houston 117 FINAL
Memphis 111
San Antonio 90 FINAL
New Orleans 97
Charlotte 75 FINAL
Oklahoma City 98
LA Lakers 98 FINAL
Dallas 102
Minnesota 102 FINAL
Denver 106
Philadelphia 93 FINAL
Portland 114
Phoenix 115 FINAL
Sacramento 106
Illinois 18 FINAL
Louisiana Tech 35
Rutgers 40 FINAL
North Carolina 21
NC State 34 FINAL
UCF 27
Cincinnati 12:00 PM
Virginia Tech
(15) Arizona State 1:10 PM
Miami-Florida 2:30 PM
So Carolina
Boston College 3:30 PM
Penn State
(25) Nebraska 7:00 PM
(24) USC
Texas A&M 12/29/14 1:00 PM
West Virginia
Oklahoma 12/29/14 4:30 PM
(18) Clemson
Arkansas 12/29/14 8:00 PM
Notre Dame 12/30/14 2:00 PM
(22) LSU
(13) Georgia 12/30/14 5:45 PM
(20) Louisville
Maryland 12/30/14 9:00 PM
(9) Ole Miss 12/31/14 11:30 AM
(6) TCU
(21) Boise State 12/31/14 3:00 PM
(12) Arizona
(8) Miss State 12/31/14 7:00 PM
(10) Georgia Tech
(19) Auburn 1/1/15 11:00 AM
(17) Wisconsin
(7) Michigan State 1/1/15 11:30 AM
(4) Baylor
(16) Missouri 1/1/15 12:00 PM
(2) Florida State 1/1/15 4:00 PM
(3) Oregon
(5) Ohio State 1/1/15 7:30 PM
(1) Alabama
Houston 1/2/15 11:00 AM
Iowa 1/2/15 2:20 PM
(11) Kansas State 1/2/15 5:45 PM
(14) UCLA
Washington 1/2/15 9:15 PM
Oklahoma State


question of the day

Poll: Who is your favorite Gophers head coach?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters