Patrick Reusse has been covering sports in the Twin Cities since 1968. He has been a Star Tribune sports columnist since 1988. His sportswriting credo is twofold: 1. God will provide an angle; 2. The smaller the ball, the better the writing.

Email Patrick.

If we want a Beanpot, we need a great name

Posted by: Patrick Reusse Updated: February 22, 2013 - 8:15 AM

The Gophers, St. Cloud State, Minnesota Duluth and Minnesota State Mankato will participate in a four-team men's hockey tournament next winter at the XCel Energy Center in St. Paul. Bemidji State is waiting in the wings as a substitute for St. Cloud, Duluth or Mankato in future years.

The idea is to emulate Boston's famed college tournament _ the Beanpot, where Boston College, Boston University, Harvard and Northeastern are the participants.

It is my contention that the Beanpot is so popular because it is the Beanpot, not the Greater Boston Cup, or the Prudential Cup.

The working title for the tournament in St. Paul is the Minnesota Cup. It is my fear the promoters will find a corporate sponsor and the four hockey schools will be at work trying to claim the TCF Bank Trophy or the Dairy Queen Cup.

This tournament needs a great name, in the manner of the Beanpot, and forunately for this state, it has a creative thinker such as me who already has offered the title over the AM airwaves: "The Herbie.''

Herb Brooks had an impact on the Gophers, on St. Cloud State's upgrade to Division I, and on this state's hockey reputation as the coach of a U.S. team that won an international tournament in Lake Placid, N.Y.

The Minnesota college tournament will be played in St. Paul, Herbie's hometown. There is a statue of him in the front of the arena.

The Gophers are headed off to the six-team Big Ten. St. Cloud State and Minnesota Duluth will be members of the new, eight-team National Collegiate Hockey Conference, which figures to be the best in the country. These are the big-league teams and all should be in the field annually.

MSU Mankato and Bemidji State are in the new WCHA,. which will be several steps below the NCHC and most of the Big Ten. If this tournament is going to be great annual attraction, you can't worry about hurt feelings. Either Mankato or Bemidji can fill out the field, based on which team had a better finish in the WCHA the previous season.

The Herbie. There is no other name for it.

I already pitched it to St. Cloud coach Bob Motzko on a visit there this week. "I love it,'' he said. "Let's do it.''


There was a time when it looked as if the St. Cloud Huskies were going to wind up in the new WCHA rather than with the big boys of the NCHC. Then, Notre Dame proscrastinated before going to Hockey East, and St. Cloud talked its way into the eighth spot in the power conference.

St. Cloud is now leading the WCHA with three weekends left in its final season. It is also in the midst of an impressive remodeling of its arena. Things are looking better than ever for Huskies hockey. Meantime, you have to wonder about the long-term ability of the 10 WCHYA schools to sustain the financial obligations that exist for Division I hockey.

Here are the size of the metro areas for the NCHC: Denver-2.6M; Omaha-880,000; Colorado Springs-660,000; Kalamazoo-327,000; Duluth-280,000; St. Cloud-200,000; Grand Forks, N.D. & Miami, Ohio, around 100,000 each.

The three largest metros in the WCHA will be Anchorage (380,000), Fairbanks (100,000) and Huntsville (400,000). The trouble is two of those markets are stuck in Alaska and the other is for an isolated college hockey program in Dixies.

There are three teams on Michigan's Upper Peninsula drawing from markets that have fewer than100,000 people combined. Ther rest of the teams are in Mankato (53,000), Bemidji (15,000), Big Rapids, Mich. (11,000) and Bowling Green, Ohio (30,000).

How can they possibly bring in the needed dollars from communities that size and with no powerhouse attractions on the conference schedule to fill the arenas? The long-range feasibility of the new WCHA seems questionable, at best.


New England 2/1/15 5:30 PM
Detroit 6:00 PM
Portland 6:00 PM
Sacramento 6:30 PM
Boston 7:00 PM
Dallas 7:00 PM
Denver 7:00 PM
New Orleans
Brooklyn 7:00 PM
Oklahoma City 7:00 PM
New York
Charlotte 7:30 PM
San Antonio
LA Clippers 8:00 PM
Washington 9:30 PM
Toronto 6:30 PM
New Jersey
Pittsburgh 7:00 PM
Chicago 9:30 PM
Los Angeles
Temple 6:00 PM
Winthrop 6:00 PM
Coastal Carolina
Lafayette 6:00 PM
Northeastern 6:00 PM
Wake Forest 6:00 PM
Florida State
Rhode Island 6:00 PM
Delaware 6:00 PM
James Madison
South Carolina 6:00 PM
New Hampshire 6:00 PM
Seton Hall 6:00 PM
Binghamton 6:00 PM
American Univ 6:00 PM
Elon 6:00 PM
Wright State 6:00 PM
Minnesota 6:00 PM
Penn State
Duquesne 6:00 PM
SMU 6:00 PM
South Florida
Hartford 6:00 PM
Stony Brook
Albany 6:00 PM
Hofstra 6:00 PM
William & Mary
UNC-Asheville 6:00 PM
Radford 6:30 PM
Char Southern
Holy Cross 0 Postponed
Loyola-Maryland 0
Duke 6:30 PM
Notre Dame
Texas Tech 6:30 PM
Oregon State 7:00 PM
Arizona State
Morehead State 7:00 PM
Austin Peay
Drake 7:00 PM
Lehigh 7:00 PM
Rice 7:00 PM
Missouri State 7:00 PM
Illinois State
Loyola-Chicago 7:00 PM
Wichita State
Nebraska Omaha 7:00 PM
South Dakota St
Northern Iowa 7:05 PM
Southern Ill
Louisville 8:00 PM
Boston College
St Johns 8:00 PM
East Carolina 8:00 PM
Georgia Tech 8:00 PM
Miss State 8:00 PM
Ole Miss
Clemson 8:00 PM
NC State
Indiana 8:00 PM
Kansas 8:00 PM
Oregon 9:00 PM
Air Force 9:00 PM
San Jose St
Stanford 10:00 PM
Rider 56 FINAL
Siena 49
Dayton 76 FINAL
Richmond 62
Eastern Kentucky 53 FINAL
Jacksonville St 73
Saint Josephs 0 Postponed
Saint Louis 0
UMBC 6:00 PM
Akron 6:00 PM
Ohio U
Ball State 6:00 PM
Memphis 6:00 PM
East Carolina 6:00 PM
(2) Connecticut
Murray State 6:00 PM
Eastern Illinois
Kent State 6:00 PM
Central Michigan
UT Martin 6:00 PM
Tennessee St
Eastern Michigan 6:00 PM
Western Mich
Bucknell 6:00 PM
Indiana 6:00 PM
Michigan State
Colgate 6:00 PM
Fordham 6:00 PM
Duquesne 6:00 PM
St Bonaventure
George Mason 6:00 PM
VA Commonwealth
Detroit 6:00 PM
Youngstown St
Army 0 Postponed
Boston U 0
Loyola-Maryland 0 Postponed
Holy Cross 0
SMU 7:00 PM
Oklahoma St 7:00 PM
Kansas State
West Virginia 7:00 PM
Texas Tech
Denver 7:00 PM
South Dakota
Northwestern St 7:00 PM
Central Arkansas
Austin Peay 7:00 PM
Kansas 7:00 PM
Iowa State
Bowling Green 7:00 PM
Northern Ill
Penn State 7:00 PM
San Jose St 8:00 PM
Air Force
Boise State 8:00 PM
Colorado State
Utah State 8:00 PM
San Diego State 9:00 PM
Fresno State
Nevada 9:00 PM


question of the day

Poll: What chance does the Wild have of making the playoffs?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters