First-time champions take Grandma's Marathon

  • Article by: RACHEL BLOUNT , Star Tribune
  • Updated: June 16, 2012 - 6:29 PM

view larger photos


DULUTH -- Through the final miles of Grandma's Marathon, Lamech Mokono hoped someone would join him on the lead. But Berhanu Girma's strategy was to stay a step behind in what had become a two-man race from Two Harbors to Duluth.

At the 22-mile mark Saturday, Mokono -- who won the race in 2008 -- took some water. It went into his nose, causing him to falter -- and Girma finally stepped forward. The Ethiopian strode out alone and crossed the finish line in 2 hours, 12 minutes, 25 seconds to earn his first marathon victory, defeating countryman Chala Lemi by 33 seconds.

Mokono, a Kenyan, finished third in 2:13:28. There was another first-time winner in the women's race, as Everlyne Lagat -- who finished third in 2010 and second last year -- ascended to the top step of the podium in 2:33:14. Mulu Seboka was second in 2:34:54, and defending champion Yihunlish Delelecha was third in 2:35:42.

Though the humidity was high throughout the race, the sky became overcast, holding temperatures to around 60 degrees. Mokono thought the conditions were ripe to break Dick Beardsley's course record of 2:09:37 set in 1981, but the reticence to push the pace prevented that from happening.

The top Minnesota finishers were Chris Erichsen in the men's race (ninth place, 2:16:31) and Jenna Boren in the women's race (eighth place, 2:40:48).

  • related content

  • Goucher says victory is a 'dream come true'

    Saturday June 16, 2012

    The Duluth native used the race as a tuneup for the Olympic marathon Aug. 5.

  • Grandma's Marathon results

    Sunday June 17, 2012

    Complete results: Go here for race results of all the Grandma's weekend races.

  • Berhanu Girma (13) celebrated after crossing the finish line to win th...

  • Everlyne Lagat crossed the finish line to win the women's division of...

  • The elite runners took off at the starting of the Grandma's Marathon i...

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Texas 5 Bottom 8th Inning
Miami 2
Seattle 3 Bottom 5th Inning
Philadelphia 4
Toronto 0 Top 4th Inning
Milwaukee 1
NY Mets - Z. Wheeler 2:35 PM
Oakland - J. Samardzija
Atlanta - A. Wood 6:05 PM
Pittsburgh - G. Cole
Houston - S. Feldman 6:05 PM
NY Yankees - M. Pineda
Arizona - T. Cahill 6:05 PM
Washington - T. Roark
LA Angels - G. Richards 6:10 PM
Boston - C. Buchholz
Detroit - R. Porcello 6:10 PM
Tampa Bay - J. Odorizzi
Cincinnati - J. Cueto 6:15 PM
St. Louis - L. Lynn
San Francisco - J. Peavy 7:05 PM
Chicago Cubs - E. Jackson
Baltimore - W. Chen 7:10 PM
Chicago WSox - H. Noesi
Cleveland - T. House 7:10 PM
Minnesota - R. Nolasco
Kansas City - D. Duffy 7:40 PM
Colorado - J. De La Rosa
San Diego - E. Stults 9:10 PM
Los Angeles - R. Hernandez
Pittsburgh 8/21/14 6:30 PM
Carolina 8/22/14 6:30 PM
New England
NY Giants 8/22/14 6:30 PM
NY Jets
Jacksonville 8/22/14 6:30 PM
Oakland 8/22/14 7:00 PM
Green Bay
Chicago 8/22/14 9:00 PM
Tampa Bay 8/23/14 3:30 PM
Tennessee 8/23/14 6:00 PM
Dallas 8/23/14 6:00 PM
Washington 8/23/14 6:30 PM
New Orleans 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Minnesota 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Kansas City
St. Louis 8/23/14 7:00 PM
Houston 8/23/14 8:00 PM
San Diego 8/24/14 3:00 PM
San Francisco
Cincinnati 8/24/14 7:00 PM
Los Angeles 8:00 PM
San Jose 9:00 PM
Montreal 8/22/14 7:30 PM
Toronto 8/23/14 3:00 PM
Calgary 8/24/14 2:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/24/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia





question of the day

Poll: Who would you rather have on your team?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters