Class 1A baseball: Three story lines

  • Updated: June 13, 2012 - 11:39 PM


Wide-open field

Only one tournament entrant, St. Agnes, has won the state title. The St. Paul-based Aggies, who are 20-6 this year, captured the Class 1A crown in 2001. None of the eight teams in the quarterfinals has a winning percentage above .500 in state tournament play.

Perfection and experience

New York Mills is the only undefeated team (23-0) in the Class 1A field, and brought back eight starters from last year's state tournament squad. The team lost both of its state tournament games in 2011. Will the players benefit from an extra year of experience?

New kids on the block

There are three first-time entrants in the field: BOLD (Bird Island, Olivia and Lake Lillian), Blackduck and Lac qui Parle Valley in Madison. BOLD and Blackduck meet in the opening round, so one of the schools is at least guaranteed a spot in the semifinals.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Pittsburgh - WP: B. Morris 8 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: S. LeCure 7
Atlanta 0 Postponed
Philadelphia 0
Chicago Cubs 0 Postponed
NY Yankees 0
Tampa Bay 0 Postponed
Baltimore 0
Cleveland 0 Postponed
Detroit 0
Washington - LP: S. Strasburg 2 FINAL
Miami - WP: T. Koehler 11
Pittsburgh - LP: G. Cole 5 FINAL
Cincinnati - WP: M. Leake 7
Seattle - LP: B. Beavan 0 FINAL
Texas - WP: R. Ross Jr. 5
St. Louis - WP: S. Miller 6 FINAL
Milwaukee - LP: M. Estrada 1
Boston - LP: B. Badenhop 1 FINAL
Chicago WSox - WP: D. Webb 2
Kansas City - WP: Y. Ventura 4 FINAL
Houston - LP: L. Harrell 2
Toronto - WP: A. Loup 9 FINAL
Minnesota - LP: P. Hughes 3
NY Mets - WP: J. Mejia 9 FINAL
Arizona - LP: B. Arroyo 0
Oakland - WP: J. Johnson 10 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: Y. Herrera 9
Colorado - WP: J. Nicasio 3 FINAL
San Diego - LP: R. Erlin 2
Los Angeles - LP: B. League 2 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: Y. Petit 3
New York 109 FINAL
Brooklyn 98
Denver 105 FINAL
LA Clippers 117





question of the day

Poll: Grade the Timberwolves season

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters