Chambers, Hopkins topple Eden Prairie for third place

The Royals bounced back from their first state tournament loss since 2003 by beating Eden Prairie.

Hopkins bounced back from its first state tournament loss since 2003, a three-overtime setback to Osseo in the Class 4A semifinals, by beating Lake Conference rival Eden Prairie 77-65 in the third-place game Saturday.

Harvard-bound senior guard Siyani Chambers scored 34 points for Hopkins (30-2). Sander Mohn paced Eden Prairie (23-9) with 24 points.

Class 3A third place

St. Paul Johnson 75, Grand Rapids 66: Missouri State recruit Marcus Marshall scored 30 points for the victorious Governors (22-9), making 11 of 17 shots. Grand Rapids guard Austin Pohlen scored a team-leading 25 points but committed nine turnovers for the Thunderhawks (25-7).

Class 2A third place

Perham 52, Braham 46: Perham fought off a second-half Braham comeback and went home with a 2A trophy for the second year in a row.

After Braham had rallied from a 10-point second-half deficit to tie the score 42-42, Perham's Mark Schumacher and Jordan Bruhn answered with back-to-back baskets, giving the 2011 champion Yellowjackets the lead for good.

Schumacher, a 6-7 center, led Perham (29-3) with 16 points. Braham (30-3) was led by Tyler Vaughan's 16 points.

Class 1A third place

Rushford-Peterson 75, Mountain Lake/Butterfield-Odin 48: Rushford-Peterson drained 15 three-pointers, nine by senior guard Trent Vix. The nine threes were one shy of the single-game tournament record.

Vix also had five steals as the Trojans forced 24 Wolverines turnovers.

Past, present meet

The teams who played for the first Minnesota basketball championship in 1913 -- Fosston and Mountain Lake (now a co-op with Butterfield and Odin) -- both qualified for this year's event.

Players and coaches from this year's squads met at center court for a brief ceremony during halftime of the Class 1A championship.

Fosston's 100-year-old trophy was also on hand.

He earned it

Mountain Lake/Butterfield-Odin center Beau Herrig accepted his Class 1A all-tournament team trophy on crutches while nursing a sprained right ankle and sporting a fresh shiner below his right eye.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Philadelphia - LP: K. Kendrick 2 FINAL
NY Mets - WP: Z. Wheeler 11
Milwaukee - WP: Y. Gallardo 5 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: D. Price 0
Arizona - WP: W. Miley 5 FINAL
Cincinnati - LP: A. Simon 4
Washington - WP: T. Roark 4 FINAL
Miami - LP: B. Hand 3
Oakland - LP: J. Hammel 1 FINAL
Houston - WP: D. Keuchel 8
Pittsburgh - LP: J. Wilson 5 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: J. Machi 7
LA Angels - LP: G. Richards 3 FINAL
Baltimore - WP: K. Gausman 4
Seattle - LP: F. Hernandez 0 FINAL
Cleveland - WP: C. Kluber 2
Chicago WSox - LP: H. Noesi 2 FINAL
Detroit - WP: M. Scherzer 7
Toronto - WP: M. Buehrle 6 FINAL
Boston - LP: B. Workman 1
Colorado - WP: R. Scahill 6 FINAL
Chicago Cubs - LP: W. Wright 4
NY Yankees - LP: H. Kuroda 2 FINAL
Texas - WP: C. Lewis 3
Minnesota - LP: P. Hughes 2 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: J. Frasor 3
Atlanta - LP: D. Hale 2 FINAL
Los Angeles - WP: J. Howell 3
St. Louis - LP: J. Kelly 1 FINAL
San Diego - WP: J. Hahn 12
NY Giants 8/3/14 7:00 PM
Toronto FC 0 FINAL
D.C. 3
Colorado 0 FINAL
New England 3
Vancouver FC 0 FINAL
Chicago 0
Red Bull New York 1 FINAL
Real Salt Lake 1
Winnipeg 6:00 PM
Toronto 8/1/14 6:00 PM
Brt Columbia 8/1/14 9:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/2/14 6:00 PM
Saskatchewan 8/7/14 7:30 PM
Edmonton 8/8/14 6:00 PM
Hamilton 8/8/14 9:00 PM
Brt Columbia
Ottawa 8/9/14 6:30 PM





question of the day

Poll: Should the Twins replace Ron Gardenhire?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters