Osseo wins 4A title with buzzer-beater

  • Article by: DAVID LA VAQUE , Star Tribune
  • Updated: March 25, 2012 - 12:42 AM

Ian Theisen made it happen for the Orioles, finding himself open and sinking a winning baseline jumper as time expired.

view larger photos


Only a sophomore, Osseo's Ian Theisen kept a veteran's poise as the biggest moment in his basketball career unfolded.

With time winding down in a tie game against Lakeville North to decide the Class 4A state championship on Saturday night at Target Center, Theisen found himself alone on the baseline. He knew what was next.

"My guy left me, so I was like, 'It's going to come to me so don't mess up, don't drop it,' " Theisen said. "I got that rhythm and [hit] nothing but net. I like that 15-footer."

Theisen's shot with no time remaining gave Osseo a 49-47 victory over Lakeville North. The Orioles (29-2) won their first state title since 2001. They were runners-up in 2003 and '09.

The shot capped a perfect yet unusual night for Theisen. The 6-foot-9 center scored 32 points in the Orioles' previous two state tournament games,


Osseo's Ian Theisen, on his game-winner

most within an arm's length of the basket. Saturday, Theisen showed off his range, making both of his three-point attempts in the first half and draining his third and final shot to win the game.

"He doesn't get enough credit for his perimeter game, but he is our second-best three point shooter," said Osseo coach Tim Theisen, who is not related to Ian. "When the ball ends up in his hands on the perimeter we're not going to say, 'No!' "

Coach Theisen said some of the long shots were by necessity rather than design. Lakeville North's physical and skilled front line pushed Theisen away from the lane.

"Sometimes the inside game won't be there so you've got to develop an outside shot," Ian Theisen said.

Both teams exhibited strong rebounding, inside scoring and contributions from reserves throughout the tournament. And they carried themselves with the confidence one would expect from teams that had not lost since January.

Osseo guards Bridgeport Tusler and DJ Hebert kept their team alive in the second half with strong individual efforts on both ends of the floor. They tipped away or stole passes and converted with clutch layups.

Grant Erickson tied the score with four consecutive points for the Panthers (30-1). He drained a three with 2 minutes, 11 seconds to play, pulling Lakeville North within one. Then he made one of his two free throws with a minute remaining to make it 47-47.

Osseo called a play designed to put the ball in Hebert's hands. But as the play broke down, Thiesen broke free.

"I've got just as much faith in him as I do in myself," Hebert said. "Great shot."

  • related content

  • Chambers, Hopkins topple Eden Prairie for third place

    Sunday March 25, 2012

    The Royals bounced back from their first state tournament loss since 2003 by beating Eden Prairie.

  • DeLaSalle wins 3A title at the wire

    Sunday March 25, 2012

    Ross Barker made good on a shot he routinely practiced, winning a title game for the Islanders that was anything but routine.

  • Osseo players mobbed teammate Ian Theisen (back to camera) at the final horn after he hit the winning basket in Saturday's Class 4A title game against Lakeville North.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


San Francisco - LP: J. Peavy 2 FINAL
Kansas City - WP: K. Herrera 7
San Diego 7:25 PM
Detroit 10/26/14 8:30 AM
Buffalo 10/26/14 12:00 PM
NY Jets
St. Louis 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Kansas City
Houston 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Minnesota 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Tampa Bay
Seattle 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Baltimore 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Miami 10/26/14 12:00 PM
Chicago 10/26/14 12:00 PM
New England
Philadelphia 10/26/14 3:05 PM
Oakland 10/26/14 3:25 PM
Indianapolis 10/26/14 3:25 PM
Green Bay 10/26/14 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Washington 10/27/14 7:30 PM
Houston 90 FINAL
Orlando 89
Brooklyn 86 FINAL
Boston 100
Washington 100 FINAL
New York 103
Cleveland 92 FINAL
Memphis 96
Minnesota 110 FINAL
Milwaukee 91
Atlanta 117 FINAL
San Antonio 107
Portland 86 FINAL
LA Lakers 94
Phoenix 105 FINAL
LA Clippers 108
Toronto 0 Postponed
Ottawa 0
Philadelphia 5 FINAL
Pittsburgh 3
Washington 2 FINAL
Edmonton 3
Buffalo 1 FINAL
Anaheim 4
Arkansas State 40 FINAL
Louisiana 55
Connecticut 6:00 PM
(18) East Carolina
Miami-Florida 7:00 PM
Virginia Tech
So Florida 10/24/14 6:00 PM
Troy 10/24/14 6:30 PM
South Alabama
BYU 10/24/14 8:00 PM
Boise State
(6) Oregon 10/24/14 9:00 PM
North Texas 10/25/14 11:00 AM
UAB 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Rutgers 10/25/14 11:00 AM
(16) Nebraska
Maryland 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Texas 10/25/14 11:00 AM
(11) Kansas State
Minnesota 10/25/14 11:00 AM
Memphis 10/25/14 11:00 AM
North Carolina 10/25/14 11:30 AM
San Jose St 10/25/14 12:00 PM
Northern Ill 10/25/14 12:00 PM
Eastern Mich
(25) UCLA 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Akron 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Ball State
Massachusetts 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Ohio U 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Western Mich
Ga Southern 10/25/14 1:00 PM
Georgia State
Kent State 10/25/14 1:30 PM
Oregon State 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Fla Atlantic 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(23) Marshall
Louisiana Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Southern Miss
(1) Miss State 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Georgia Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(22) West Virginia 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Oklahoma State
Texas Tech 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(10) TCU
Michigan 10/25/14 2:30 PM
(8) Michigan State
Boston College 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Wake Forest
Central Mich 10/25/14 2:30 PM
Vanderbilt 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Old Dominion 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Western Ky
UNLV 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Utah State
Temple 10/25/14 4:00 PM
(15) Arizona 10/25/14 5:00 PM
Washington St
Texas-El Paso 10/25/14 6:00 PM
TX-San Antonio
Wyoming 10/25/14 6:00 PM
Colorado State
Syracuse 10/25/14 6:00 PM
(21) Clemson
Texas State 10/25/14 6:00 PM
(3) Ole Miss 10/25/14 6:15 PM
(24) LSU
(4) Alabama 10/25/14 6:30 PM
So Carolina 10/25/14 6:30 PM
(5) Auburn
(13) Ohio State 10/25/14 7:00 PM
Penn State
(20) USC 10/25/14 9:00 PM
(19) Utah
(14) Arizona State 10/25/14 9:45 PM
Nevada 10/25/14 10:59 PM
Chivas USA 0 FINAL
Real Salt Lake 2
Montreal 10/24/14 5:30 PM
Saskatchewan 10/24/14 8:30 PM
Hamilton 10/25/14 3:00 PM
Brt Columbia 10/25/14 6:00 PM
Hamilton 10/31/14 6:30 PM
Winnipeg 11/1/14 3:00 PM
Brt Columbia 11/1/14 6:00 PM


question of the day

Poll: Who should get the Twins' managing job?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters