Lakeville South, Breck take third-place games

  • Updated: March 10, 2012 - 11:43 PM

Lakeville South went from the high of knocking off the top seed in Class 2A to the low of a 10-1 thrashing, then finished Saturday on an up note with a 2-1 victory over Moorhead at Xcel Energy Center in the third-place game of the boys' hockey state tournament.

Senior Justin Kloos, the Star Tribune's Metro Player of the Year, scored the game-winner in the second period as Lakeville South (22-9-0) rebounded from a lopsided semifinal loss against Benilde-St. Margaret's.

Kloos, a Mr. Hockey finalist, also assisted on Patrick Lauderdale's first-period goal and finished the season with 102 points.

Moorhead (22-8-0) scored a third-period goal by Nate Johnson.

• Breck lost a two-goal lead in the third period before defeating Thief River Falls 4-3 in overtime Saturday to take the third-place trophy in Class 1A.

The overtime goal by Nate Breitenfeldt was set up by Mr. Hockey finalist Grant Opperman.

Trailing 3-1, Thief River Falls (23-6-2) got goals from Riley Soderstrom and Evan Ose to tie the score.

The third-seeded Mustangs (26-4-1), who won Class 1A titles in 2009 and 2010, broke a 1-1 tie in the second on goals by Opperman and Andrew Headrick.

Fifth-place games

Stung by an first-round loss, top-seeded Duluth East won consolation honors with a 4-1 victory over Eagan at Mariucci Arena.

In Class 1A, three goals by Joey Hanowski lifted Little Falls over Rochester Lourdes 5-4 at Mariucci Arena.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Miami - LP: B. Morris 4 FINAL
Washington - WP: M. Grace 6
NY Yankees - LP: C. Martin 1 FINAL
Toronto - WP: R. Dickey 3
Philadelphia - WP: A. Harang 5 FINAL
Atlanta - LP: A. Wood 2
Tampa Bay - WP: J. Odorizzi 5 FINAL
Boston - LP: C. Buchholz 1
Los Angeles - LP: C. Hatcher 3 FINAL
Milwaukee - WP: M. Blazek 4
Chicago Cubs - LP: P. Strop 9 FINAL
St. Louis - WP: M. Socolovich 10
Oakland - LP: J. Hahn 7 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: P. Hughes 8
Texas - WP: K. Kela 2 FINAL
Houston - LP: C. Qualls 1
Arizona 0 Postponed
Colorado 0
Seattle - WP: F. Hernandez 3 FINAL
LA Angels - LP: M. Shoemaker 2
San Diego - LP: T. Ross 0 FINAL
San Francisco - WP: M. Bumgarner 2
Chicago 99 FINAL
Cleveland 92
LA Clippers 117 FINAL
Houston 101
NY Rangers 0 FINAL
Washington 1


question of the day

Poll: Can the Wild bounce back and win Chicago series?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters