Jonas Brodin, the youngest defenseman in the NHL at age 19, was arguably the biggest name snubbed as a Calder Trophy finalist this morning.

The finalists are Montreal's Brendan Gallagher, Florida's Jonathan Huberdeau and Chicago's Brandon Saad.

All of this season’s award winners will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final, with more detail on format to be released at a later date.

You can arguably say no NHL rookie made as much of an impact as Brodin. Paired for most the season with veteran Ryan Suter, Brodin led all rookies in average ice time per game -- 23 minutes, 12 seconds, nearly two minutes over the next guy. He was fourth among Wild blue liners with 11 points in 45 games.

In the playoffs, Brodin ranks fifth among all NHLers at 28:54 a game (Suter leads at 32:42).

The NHL Awards will return to Las Vegas in June 2014.

Following is the schedule of announcements:

Tuesday, May 7 James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman) *Ryan Suter should be a finalist if not the frontrunner

Wednesday, May 8 Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)

Thursday, May 9 Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by NHLPA) **Ted Lindsay Award nominees will be announced by the NHLPA

Friday, May 10 Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team)

Monday, May 13 General Manager of the Year Award

Tuesday, May 14 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey) *Josh Harding is the Wild's Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) nominee 

Wednesday, May 15 Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)

Thursday, May 16 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship)

Friday, May 17 Jack Adams Award (top head coach)

Monday, May 20 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone (player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice)

Older Post

Postgame: Zucker's OT goal put stamp on physical night

Newer Post

Pominville practicing for the Wild; Dumba, McMillan recalled