WCCO-AM, MPR, WDIO-TV among AP award winners

  • Associated Press
  • March 28, 2014 - 7:25 PM

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. — WCCO Radio of Minneapolis, Minnesota Public Radio, KTTC-TV of Rochester and WDIO-TV of Duluth are among top winners in the 2013 Minnesota Associated Press Broadcasters Awards Contest.

WCCO won for coverage of the legalization of gay marriage in Minnesota, affordable health care and the search for a 2-year-old western Wisconsin boy found dead in a locked trunk.

WCCO also was cited for memories of the Metrodome, sports play-by-play, best newscast and website.

MPR won for examining why electronic pulltab gambling flopped, and for writing about last summer's stifling heat.

KTTC-TV won first place in spot news for coverage of a flash flood rescue and WDIO won best-in-show for a look at Duluth's underground tunnels.

News director Wendy Wilde of KTOE-AM in Mankato won the Lone Ranger Award, honoring one-person radio newsrooms.

© 2018 Star Tribune