State Senate GOP caucus elects new assistant leadership

  • Blog Post by: Abby Simons
  • February 24, 2014 - 4:05 PM

The Minnesota Senate Republican Caucus elected two new leaders on the eve of the 2014 legislative session.

Sens. Gary Dahms, R-Redwood Falls and Paul Gazelka, R-Nisswa, were elected Assistant Republican Leaders by the Caucus, replacing Sens. David Thompson, R-Lakeville, and Michelle Benson, R-Ham Lake, who are stepping down.

“I am pleased to welcome Sen. Dahms and Sen. Gazelka, two respected and experienced members, to the Senate Republican Caucus’s leadership team,” Senate Minority leader David Hann, R-Eden Prairie, said, while thanking Thompson and Benson for their leadership.

Dahms, first elected in 2010, represents District 16, which includes Redwood, Brown, Yellow Medicine, Renville and Lac qui Parle counties. He is the ranking Republican on the Jobs, Agriculture and Rural Development Committee.

Gazelka represents District 9, which includes Cass, Wadena, Todd and Morrison Counties. HE was first elected to the House in 2004 and Senate in 2010. He is the Ranking Republican on the Commerce Committee.

© 2016 Star Tribune