Ten Mr. Hockey finalists are announced

  • Article by: Paul Walsh
  • Star Tribune
  • February 5, 2014 - 11:32 AM

The 10 finalists for the Mr. Hockey honor, given annually to the top senior skater in Minnesota, were announced Wednesday.

The 10 are: Duluth East defenseman Phil Beaulieu, Blaine forward Tyler Cline, Benilde-St. Margaret’s forward Spencer Naas, Edina defenseman Tyler Nanne, Grand Rapids forward Avery Peterson, Hill-Murray forward Mitch Slattery, Eden Prairie forward Steven Spinner, Eden Prairie defenseman Luc Snuggerud, Eagan defenseman Nick Wolff and Roseau forward Zach Yon.

Mac Berglove of Elk River and Hunter Shepard of Grand Rapids were announced as finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award, which goes to the state’s top senior goaltender.

The awards will be presented by the Minnesota Minute Men organization at the St. Paul RiverCentre on March 9, one day after the conclusion of the Class 2A and 1A state tournaments at the neighboring Xcel Energy Center.

Last year’s recipient among the skaters was forward Grant Besse of Benilde-St. Margaret’s. The top netminder honor went to David Zevnik of St. Thomas Academy.


Paul Walsh • 612-673-4482

© 2018 Star Tribune