Kill earns Regional Coach of the Year Award from AFCA

  • Blog Post by: Joe Christensen
  • December 11, 2013 - 9:16 AM

Gophers coach Jerry Kill received a 2013 Regional Coach of the Year Award from the American Football Coaches Association on Tuesday, joining Florida State’s Jimbo Fisher, Missouri’s Gary Pinkel, Baylor’s Art Briles and Stanford’s David Shaw as one of the five selections from the Football Bowl Subdivision.

Those coaches will be recognized at the 2014 AFCA Convention on Jan. 14 in Indianapolis, where a National Coach of the Year selection will be made for each of the Association’s five divisions.

Minnesota State Mankato coach Aaron Keen also won a regional award for Division II, Bethel's Steve Johnson won a regional award for Division III. Here’s a complete list of the regional winners:

Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Jimbo Fisher, Florida State University
Region 2: Gary Pinkel, University of Missouri
Region 3: Jerry Kill, University of Minnesota
Region 4: Art Briles, Baylor University
Region 5: David Shaw, Stanford University

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Joe Moorhead, Fordham University &
Jack Cosgrove, University of Maine (tie)
Region 2: Jamey Chadwell, Charleston Southern University
Region 3: Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois University
Region 4: Craig Bohl, North Dakota State University
Region 5: Ron Roberts, Southeastern Louisiana University

Division II
Region 1: George Mihalik, Slippery Rock University
Region 2: Scott Maxfield, Henderson State University
Region 3: Bill Conley, Ohio Dominican University
Region 4: Josh Lynn, Eastern New Mexico University
Region 5: Aaron Keen, Minnesota State University-Mankato

Division III
Region 1: Mike Welch, Ithaca College
Region 2: Jim Monos, Lebanon Valley College
Region 3: Pete Fredenburg, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Region 4: Tom Arth, John Carroll University
Region 5: Steve Johnson, Bethel (Minn.) University

Region 1: Chris Oliver, Lindsey Wilson College
Region 2: Mike Woodley, Grand View University
Region 3: Larry Wilcox, Benedictine (Kan.) College
Region 4: Ross Cimpl, Dakota Wesleyan University
Region 5: Mike Van Diest, Carroll (Mont.) College

© 2018 Star Tribune