After being doused with a water cooler Minnesota head coach Brad Frost laughed with Megan Bozek (19) and Bethany Brausen (16) at the end of the game. Minnesota beat Boston University by a final score of 6-3 to win the NCCA National Championship.

Carlos Gonzalez, Dml - Star Tribune

Gophers women's hockey picked WCHA favorite

  • Article by: Staff Reports
  • September 19, 2013 - 10:37 PM


The Gophers women’s hockey team, which has won back-to-back NCAA titles, is the WCHA coaches’ pick to win the conference title this season in a preseason poll. Wisconsin was picked to finish second in the WCHA, and North Dakota third.

The league’s eight coaches also chose sophomore forward Hannah Brandt of the Gophers as the preseason Player of the Year and teammate Dani Cameranesi as the Rookie of the Year.

Last season Brandt finished second in the nation in scoring with 33 goals and 82 points and was the WCHA Rookie of the Year.

Cameranesi was Ms. Hockey in 2013 and led Blake to the Class 1A state title. She had 200 goals and 357 career points for the Bears.

The Gophers will open their season with an exhibition game against Team Japan on Sept. 26.



Miami NCHC favorite

Miami, a former CCHA power, was picked to win the National Collegiate Hockey Conference title in a preseason media poll.

North Dakota was predicted to finish second, St. Cloud State third. They were followed by Denver, Western Michigan, Minnesota Duluth, Colorado College and Nebraska Omaha.

Miami had seven first-place votes and 115 points, UND five and 109, SCSU four and 99.


Minneapolis dives in

Minneapolis is among six cities being considered as the site for the 2016 U.S. Olympic diving trials.

USA Diving announced Thursday the list of cities bidding to host the meet that will determine the team for the Rio Olympics.

Also under consideration: Atlanta; Indianapolis; Greensboro, N.C.; Riverside, Calif., and Tucson, Ariz.

A committee of staff and board members from USA Diving will visit each of the six cities before the finalists are announced Oct. 21. The winning city will be revealed Dec. 10.

© 2018 Star Tribune