ADVERTISEMENT

New 'Wits' lineup features comic star power

  • Blog Post by: Kristin Tillotson
  • August 20, 2013 - 5:37 PM

 

 

 

Margaret Cho is on the Wits fall lineup. Photo by Richie Arpino.

 Wits, the popular American Public Media show hosted by John Moe that teams comedians (and other big personalities) with musicians at the Fitzgerald Theatre for a live performance that is later broadcast on radio and available via podcast, boasts a roster of bold-face names, including recently departed Vike Chris Kluwe, headliner comics Margaret ChoDavid Cross and Jim Gaffigan, and Minnesota funny-girl-done-good Maria Bamford.  Highlights on the music side include Aimee Mann, Yo La Tengo and, in an apparent bid to rack up every talented Wainwright alive, Rufus and Martha's dad, Loudon Wainwright III.

See witsradio.org for more info. Here's the lineup:

Thursday, October 17: Chris Kluwe, Dave Hill, and musical guest Sara Watkins

Thursday, October 24: Paul F. Tompkins and musical guest Yo La Tengo

Friday, October 25: Paul F. Tompkins and musical guest Rhett Miller

Friday, November 1: Aisha Tyler and musical guest Loudon Wainwright III

Thursday, November 7: Ellie Kemper and musical guest Waxahatchee

Thursday, November 14: Margaret Cho and musical guest Josh Ritter

Thursday, November 21: Jim Gaffigan and musical guest Busdriver

Thursday, December 5: Tim Heidecker and musical guests Aimee Mann and Ted Leo (solo)

Friday, December 13: David Cross and musical guest Har Mar Superstar

Friday, December 20: Maria Bamford and musical guest Thao Nguyen

 

 

David Cross will appear in the Wits series with local legend Har Mar Superstar.

 

© 2014 Star Tribune