Malik Smith ( photo),

Former FIU starter Malik Smith signs tender with Gophers

  • Article by: STAFF REPORTS
  • May 21, 2013 - 7:19 AM

Malik Smith signed a tender to play for the Gophers and will be eligible immediately pending an NCAA waiver based on a possible postseason ban at Florida International, his previous school, the Gophers basketball program announced Monday.

Smith joins previously signed guards Deandre Mathieu and Daquein McNeil as part of coach Richard Pitino’s first recruiting class at Minnesota.

“It was a pleasure to coach Malik last season at FIU and I am excited that he has decided to join the Golden Gopher program,” Pitino said. “His knowledge of our program on and off the court will be invaluable as we start to integrate our system here.”

Smith played his junior season for Pitino at FIU. He started 31 of 32 games for the Golden Panthers and was named third-team All-Sun Belt Conference after averaging 14.1 points and 2.7 rebounds per game.

Nelson is chosen MVP of Gophers wrestling

Heavyweight Tony Nelson, who went 33-1 and won his second consecutive national title, was announced as MVP of the Gophers wrestling team at their postseason awards banquet.

Other award winners included Dylan Ness (most exciting wrestler); Scott Schiller (most dedicated); Logan Storley (most courageous) and Kevin Steinhaus (leadership).

Cody Yohn, the lone senior among the 10 starters, and Danny Zilverberg, a late mainstay at 157 pounds, shared the most improved award.


• The University of St. Thomas swept the men’s and women’s MIAC All-Sports competitions for the sixth year in a row, the league announced. The Tommies men won six conference titles and the women won four, highlighted by a Division III national championship in volleyball. The last time a Tommies program didn’t win the competiton was in 2006-07, when the St. John’s men and Gustavus women won.

• Alise Post of St. Cloud won the women’s supercross title at the USA Cycling Elite BMX national championships, held Friday in Chula Vista, Calif. Post, a 2012 Olympian, earned her third consecutive U.S. title.

© 2018 Star Tribune