"The Round House" a finalist for Carnegie Medal.

  • Blog Post by: Laurie Hertzel
  • April 22, 2013 - 12:49 PM


The Andrew Carnegie Medals for excellence in fiction and nonfiction will be announced on June 30 in Chicago. Winners will receive $5,000, and the four finalists will receive $1,500 each.


The finalists in fiction are Louise Erdrich for "The Round House"; Junot Diaz for "This is How You Lose Her" (and those two met mano-a-mano once before, for the National Book Award, and we all know who won); and Richard Ford for "Canada."

In nonfiction, the finalists are "The Mansion of Happiness," by Jill Lepore, "Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher," by Timothy Egan, and "Spillover:  Animal Infections and the Next Human Pandemic," by David Quammen.

Here are Strib reviews of four of the six finalists:

"The Round House."

"This is How You Lose Her."


"Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher."

© 2018 Star Tribune