Seven metro schools forming new athletic conference

  • March 5, 2013 - 10:20 AM

Seven suburban high schools announced Tuesday that they will form a new athletic conference beginning in 2014.

 The Metro West Conference currently includes seven high schools: Chaska, Chanhassen, Jefferson, Kennedy, Richfield, Cooper and St. Louis Park.

Applications are being accepted for other schools that want to join.

In a press release, Chanhassen athletic director Dick Ungar said:  “Chanhassen High School opened in 2009 and we doubled the opportunities for the students who live in our school district. “Chaska and Chanhassen are like Goldilocks, not too big and not too small. This is a chance to unite with other high schools very similar to us.”

The conference is also seeking an executive secretary, and students are being invited to participate in a contest to design a conference logo. Applications and documents are available at Eastern Carver County Schools’ website.

© 2018 Star Tribune