Charlie Awards winners announced

  • Blog Post by: Rick Nelson
  • November 11, 2012 - 9:49 PM

The second-annual Charlie Awards, which recognize exceptional contributions of Twin Cities restaurants, chefs, bartenders, community leaders and other practitioners, was held at the Pantages Theatre in downtown Minneapolis on Sunday afternoon. 

Congratulations to the winners, including: 

Outstanding Restaurant: Tilia (pictured, above)

Outstanding Chef: Doug Flicker of Piccolo

Outstanding Pastry Chef: Michelle Gayer of the Salty Tart

Lifetime Achievement: Lenny Russo, chef/co-owner of Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market

Community Hero: Brenda Langton, owner of Spoonriver

Emerging Food Professional: Birk Gruden and Christina Nguyen of Hola Arepa

Outstanding Bartender: Johnny Michaels of La Belle Vie

Outstanding Restaurant Service: Meritage

Outstanding Restaurant Design: The Bachelor Farmer (designed by Janet Gridley)

Local Do-Gooder: Randy Stanley of the Uptown Restaurant Taskforce

Outstanding Cup of Coffee: Moroccan Mocha from Cahoots Coffee Bar in St. Paul

Outstanding Local Craft Brew: Summit Saga IPA from Summit Brewing Co.

Outstanding Food Truck Item: Slow-roasted pork arepa from Hola Arepa

Outstanding Restaurant Item: Masu Roll from Masu Sushi & Robata

Winners in the individual and business categories are selected by a vote among participating restaurants, and winners in the food categories are selected by an online open-to-the-public vote and a panel of experts.

Find the 2011 winners here.

The awards are named after the Charlie’s Café Exceptionale. The landmark downtown Minneapolis restaurant closed in 1982 after a 49-year run. 

© 2018 Star Tribune