ADVERTISEMENT

Replacement ref who botched Packers call insists he made "the correct call"

  • Blog Post by: Michael Rand
  • September 27, 2012 - 5:04 PM

 

TMZ.com, source of all your hot sports scoops, got ahold of the replacement referee who signaled "touchdown" in the Packers/Seahawks game. And Lance Easley stands by his call.

 

Per TMZ:

He stands by his decision, adamantly saying, "It was the correct call."

Easley told us he can't believe he's being vilified ... "I didn't do anything wrong."

He says strongly ... the Packers player who allegedly intercepted the ball never had singular possession because, "You have to not only have the ball but have either 2 feet or a body part on the ground, and that never happened."

Easley says this was clearly a case of simultaneous possession -- meaning the catch goes to the offensive player -- adding, "Put any other official who knows the rules and they would make the same call."

This opinion, while flattering to Vikings fans, is not shared by roughly 98 percent of the population.
 

© 2014 Star Tribune