U's Patterson, Bjugstad named second-team All-America

  • Blog Post by: $author
  • April 7, 2012 - 5:11 PM

Two Gophers and three other players from Minnesota were named all-america players on Friday. Goalie Kent Patterson, a senior from Plymouth, and center Nick Bjugstad, a sophomore from Blaine, were named to the West all-america second team.

On the West first team is Minnesota Duluth center Jack Connolly, of Duluth, the Hobey Baker Award winner this year as well.

Also on the West second all-america team is UMD sophomore forward J.T. Brown of Burnsville. On the East second all-america team is Air Force defenseman Tim Kriby of Austin, Minn.

The teams:

2011-12 AHCA/CCM Hockey Men’s Division 1 All-American Teams

All-American West First Team
Goalie: Taylor Nelson, Sr., Ferris State University (Regina, SK)
Defense: Torey Krug, Jr., Michigan State University (Livonia, MI)
Defense: Justin Schultz, Jr., University of Wisconsin* (West Kelowna, BC)
Forward: Jack Connolly, Sr., University of Minnesota Duluth*# (Duluth, MN)
Forward: Jaden Schwartz, So., Colorado College (Wilcox, SK)
Forward: Reilly Smith, Jr., Miami University (Mimico, ON)

All-American East First Team
Goalie: Troy Grosenick, So., Union College (Brookfield, WI)
Defense: Danny Biega, Jr., Harvard University (Montreal, QC)
Defense: Brian Dumoulin, Jr., Boston College* (Biddeford, ME)
Forward: Spencer Abbott, Sr., University of Maine (Hamilton, ON)
Forward: Alex Killorn, Sr., Harvard University (Montreal, QC)
Forward: Austin Smith, Sr., Colgate University (Dallas, TX)

All-American West Second Team
Goalie: Kent Patterson, Sr., University of Minnesota (Plymouth, MN)
Defense: Chad Billins, Sr., Ferris State University (Marysville, MI)
Defense: Dan DeKeyser, So., Western Michigan University (Clay Township, MI)
Forward: Nick Bjugstad, So., University of Minnesota (Blaine, MN)
Forward: J.T. Brown, So., University of Minnesota Duluth (Burnsville, MN)
Forward: Jason Zucker, So., University of Denver (Las Vegas, NV)

All-American East Second Team
Goalie: Joe Cannata, Sr., Merrimack College (Wakefield, MA)
Defense: Mat Bodie, So., Union College (East St. Paul, MB)
Defense: Tim Kirby, Sr., U.S. Air Force Academy (Austin, MN)
Forward: Barry Almeida, Sr., Boston College (Springfield, MA)
Forward: Brian O’Neill, Sr., Yale University (Yardley, PA)
Forward: Jeremy Welsh, Jr., Union College (Bayfield, ON)

* First Team in 2010-11; # Second Team in 2009-10


Freshman Joey LaLeggia of Denver was named the national rookie of the year. LaLeggia had 11 goals and 38 points in 42 games for the Pioneers.

He was the WCHA's rookie of the year, too.

Gophers coach Don Lucia has compared incoming freshman Mike Reilly to LaLeggia, who played at Penticton of the BCHL last season. Reilly broke LaLeggia's single-season regular season tean scoring record for a defenseman at Penticton this season.


Ferris State coach Bob Daniles on playing Boston College for the NCAA title: "If we are the decided underdogs going into the game, so be it."

© 2018 Star Tribune