Suggs beats out Jared Allen for NFL Defensive Player of the Year

  • Blog Post by: Mark Craig
  • February 4, 2012 - 6:41 PM

Ravens outside linebacker Terrell Suggs, whose team advanced to the AFC Championship game, won Associated Press NFL Defensive Player of the Year, beating Vikings defensive end Jared Allen, whose team tied a franchise record with 13 losses.

Suggs earned 21 of the 50 votes by NFL writers. Allen had 14 votes, including the Star Tribune's.

Allen's 22 sacks broke the team record and came within 1/2 a sack of Michael Strahan's league record. He also had four forced fumbles, an interception and a safety.

Suggs had 14 sacks, seven forced fumbles and two interceptions.

Suggs certainly is deserving. But so was Allen, which is saying something considering his team's 3-13 record.

Allen was trying to become just the sixth player to win the award on a team with a losing record. Cortez Kennedy, who was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame earlier today, won the award on a 2-14 Seahawks team in 1992.



© 2018 Star Tribune