NCAA tournament

The event: 64-team Division I national championship.

The format: Teams are placed in 16 four-team, double-elimination regionals. Regional winners advance to eight best-of-three Super Regionals. Super Regional winners play in the College World Series that starts June 18 in Omaha.

The Gophers: The No. 2 seed in College Station, Texas, they open at 3 p.m. Friday against Wake Forest. Top seed Texas A&M and No. 4 seed Binghamton are the other teams in College Station.