Minnesota Public Radio and The Star Tribune have both won a national Edward R. Murrow Award, one of the most prestigious honors in video journalism.

MPR was recognized for overall excellence for a radio station in a large market while the Star Tribune finished first in the category of best use of video on a website for online news organizations in a large market.

Other big winners included ABC News for best overall excellence by a network news outlet, HBO's "Citizenfour" as best news documentary, the Washington Post for overall excellence by an online news organization and CTV Vancouver for overall excellence by a TV station in a large market.

This is the fourth National Murrow Award the Star Tribune has earned since newspapers were allowed into the competition six years ago.

Winners will be celebrated Oct. 10 in New York City.

Older Post

Carrie Underwood's storied tour coming Oct. 17 to Xcel Center

Newer Post

Minnesota 'Voice' alum Kat Perkins records tribute to slain castmate Christina Grimmie