Texas Motor Speedway, 1 p.m., NBCSN


What: Race 34 of 36 (eighth of playoffs)

Track: Oval, 1.5 miles

Race distance: 501 miles, 334 laps

2016 winner: Carl Edwards

Last race: Kyle Busch won at Martinsville.

Fast facts: Pole winner Kurt Busch was one of five drivers who broke the 200-mph mark during qualifying. Three of them — Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch — are championship contenders. … With his victory last week, Kyle Busch guaranteed himself a spot in the final four. …The only championship contender starting outside the top 10 is Chase Elliott. … Jimmie Johnson has won six of his past 10 starts at Texas.

Next race: Can-Am 500, Nov. 12, Phoenix Raceway.

Associated Press