Simone Kolander of the Gophers was named the Big Ten's forward of the year in women's soccer.

The junior co-captain from Lakeville scored seven goals, including six game-winners.

Kolander also was named the All-Big Ten first team. Two of her teammates, midfielder Josee Stiever and defender Rashida Beal, made the second team.

Forward April Bockin and midfielder Molly Fiedler of Minnesota made the all-freshman team. Sophomore Kellie McGahn received the sportsmanship award.

The Gophers, seeded sixth, play at third seed Rutgers at noon Sunday in the conference tournament quarterfinals. Minnesota (11-5-3, 6-4-1 conference) lost to the Scarlet Knights 3-1 on Oct. 23.

Gusties to honor 9

Nine individuals will be inducted into Gustavus Adolphus Athletics Hall of Fame next Saturday.

The list: Tina Peterson Bross (1996 graduate, soccer), Kyle Landon ('99, golf), Lisa Broughten Monjeau ('98, tennis), Kevin O'Laughlin ('99, swimming), Katie Kortuem Olson ('00, gymnastics), Erica Stone Scott ('00, track and field), Chris Swansson ('99, football, baseball), Dave Underdale ('84, hockey), and Dr. Alan Markman (benefactor).


• The Gophers swept Iowa in a double dual swimming and diving meet in Iowa City. The Minnesota men won 169.5-130.5, the women 192-105. Daryl Turner won the 100-yard backstroke and swam the first leg on the winning 400 freestyle relay. Samantha Harding won the 1,650 freestyle (16:36.33) in the nation's fastest time this season and the 500 freestyle.

• The MIAC cross-country championships will be held Saturday at Como Golf Course in St. Paul. The women's race will be at 2:15 p.m., the men's race at 3:15 p.m.

• St. Cloud State, the defending NCAA Division II champion, is first in the NSIC preseason wrestling rankings. The Huskies return national champion Tim Prescott at 125 pounds, and national runner-up Austin Goergen at heavyweight. Augustana and Minnesota State Mankato were second and third in the preseason poll.

• Defender Rachel Gratz of Concordia (St. Paul) was named to the NCAA Division II academic all-district women's soccer first team. Forward Korey Kronforst and midfielder Kiana Nickel of MSU Mankato made the second team as did forward Sarah Stram of Bemidji State.