The 10 finalists for the Mr. Hockey Award, given annually to the top senior skater in Minnesota, were announced Wednesday.

They are Duluth East defenseman Phil Beaulieu, Blaine forward Tyler Cline, Benilde-St. Margaret's forward Spencer Naas, Edina defenseman Tyler Nanne, Grand Rapids forward Avery Peterson, Hill-Murray forward Mitch Slattery, Eden Prairie forward Steven Spinner, Eden Prairie defenseman Luc Snuggerud, Eagan defenseman Nick Wolff and Roseau forward Zach Yon.

Mac Berglove of Elk River and Hunter Shepard of Grand Rapids were announced as finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award, which goes to the state's top senior goaltender.

The awards will be presented by the Minnesota Minute Men organization at the St. Paul RiverCentre on March 9, the day after the conclusion of the Class 2A and 1A state tournaments.

Paul Walsh


• Sophomore goalie Amanda Leveille of the Gophers was named the WCHA's defensive player of the week. She stopped 48 of 50 shots as Minnesota swept North Dakota 5-1 and 3-1 on the road. She has a 1.12 goals-against average and a .950 save percentage. … Forward Ashleigh Brykaliuk of Minnesota Duluth was the rookie of the week. She had three goals as UMD swept Bemidji State 5-3 and 2-1.

• The Rochester Honkers of the Northwoods League signed brothers Reid and Ryne Roper of the University of Illinois. Both are righthanded pitchers and infielders. Reid, a redshirt junior for the Illini, will play for the Honkers for a fourth season. Ryne, a freshman, will play in Rochester for the first time. The Honkers season begins May 27 at Mayo Field.

• The Gophers softball team held its first practice this year on Wednesday. It opens its 56-game regular season Friday against Murray State in the Tiger Classic in Baton Rouge, La. Minnesota, coming off its best season (36-19, 14-6 Big Ten) in a decade, is ranked 25th in College Sports Madness' Top 44 softball preview. Infielders Kaitlyn Richardson and Tyler Walker and pitcher Sara Moulton are returning first team All-Big Ten picks.