It wasn't long ago that some high-profile departures cut deeply into Minneapolis' clout at the State Capitol.

But elections have consequences, and this month's DFL takeover of the Legislature has put several Minneapolis politicians in top spots.

Most notable among them is Rep. Paul Thissen, who as incoming speaker of the Minnesota House will have broad sway over what legislation reaches the floor. Thissen represents Uptown and southwest Minneapolis.

The last DFL speaker, Margaret Anderson Kelliher, served during the 2009-2010 session. Kelliher also represented Minneapolis.

Sen. Scott Dibble, who represents the western edge of the city, will become chair of the Transportation and Public Safety Finance Division committee.

On the always-controversial topic of education, Sen. Patricia Torres Ray will chair the relevant committee in the Senate.

Newly elected Sen. Jeff Hayden, formerly a representative, will become deputy majority leader in the new Senate leadership structure. Hayden represents areas of south Minneapolis surrounding Interstate 35W.

Past speakers from Minneapolis are Dee Long, who served as first female speaker until she stepped down amid scandal in 1993, Martin Olav Sabo, who was later elected to Congress, William Nolan, Lawrence Johnson, and Loren Fletcher.

The full listing of House leadership, including committee chairs, is expected to be released next week.

Photo: Thissen, Dibble, Torres Ray, Hayden