Twins catcher Joe Mauer won his third Rawlings Gold Glove Award today, when the American League winners were announced.

No other Twins were honored this year. Second baseman Orlando Hudson, who won four Gold Gloves in the National League, was denied, as the Gold Glove at that position went to the Yankees' Robinson Cano.

Mauer also won the award in 2008 and 2009.

Mauer is the fourth Twins player to win at least three Gold Gloves. Pitcher Jim Kaat won 11, center fielder Torii Hunter seven, center fielder Kirby Puckett six and third baseman Gary Gaetti four.

Earl Battey is the only other Twins catcher to win the award -- in 1961 and 1962.

Here's the full list of this year's AL winners:

P -- Mark Buehrle
C -- Joe Mauer
1B -- Mark Teixeira
2B -- Robinson Cano
3B -- Evan Longoria
SS -- Derek Jeter
OF -- Carl Crawford
OF -- Franklin Gutierrez
OF -- Ichiro Suzuki

* The Twins signed righthanded pitcher Eric Hacker to a major league deal and placed him on the 40-man roster, Hacker's agent Matt Sosnick said, confirming a report (via Twitter) by ESPN's Jerry Crasnick.

Hacker, who turns 28 in March, went 16-8 with a 4.51 ERA for Class AAA Fresno last year but was not called up by the Giants, who were loaded with pitching en route to their World Series title. Hacker was named the Pacific Coast League's top righthanded starter.

Older Post

Oakland outbids Twins for Japanese pitcher

Newer Post

Gardenhire, Twins await today's Manager of the Year announcement