South school briefs: Workshop shows how to run for office

  • Updated: July 15, 2014 - 2:18 PM

Neal Jeppson was a baseball coach at Burnsville High School for 29 seasons. He retired in 2002 and is being inducted into the school’s Hall of Fame this summer.

Photo: Star Tribune file,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger


Workshop shows how to run for office

The city of Farmington and District 192 Community Education are partnering to offer a workshop for those interested in running for public office — either school board or City Council.

It’s scheduled from 6:30 to 8 p.m. on July 29 at the Community Education Center at Meadowview Elementary, 6100 195th St. W.

A City Council and school board member will be there to share experiences. The event is free and open to anyone with no registration necessary.

Information is available at or

Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan

Student named scholar

The National Society of High School Scholars reports that Rosemount High School student Kailey Hodgson of Apple Valley has been chosen as a member.

Founded in 2002, the organization recognizes top scholars for their leadership, scholarship and commitment to the community. Membership gives students benefits like scholarships, events and programs and access to academic competitions.

For more information, visit

prior lake

Student wins award for volunteer work

Elizabeth Parrish, 17, of Prior Lake has been named a regional winner of the Kohl’s Cares Scholarship Program for making positive contributions to the community through service.

Parrish was awarded the $1,000 scholarship for her work as founder and organizer of Parents’ Night Out, a monthly evening for 15 local couples to get out of the house and spend time together. Each event has a theme and involves a dinner and activities. She also coordinates volunteers to baby-sit while the parents are having fun.

Parrish now qualifies for $10,000 in total scholarship money, along with a $1,000 donation to a nonprofit on her behalf, through the program. Ten of those scholarships will be given, with winners announced at the end of July.

Across the country, 182 students were named regional winners of the scholarship. They were chosen from 37,000 applicants nationwide.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters