Previous Page 2 of 3 Next

Continued: State, local election ballots set in Washington County

  • Article by: JIM ANDERSON , Star Tribune
  • Last update: August 16, 2014 - 2:00 PM

Lake St. Croix Beach: Mayor Tom McCarthy is being challenged by City Council Member Jim Unker. Incumbents Mildred J. Brown and Cindie J. Reiter face a challenge from Reneé Godbout and Michelle Kline.

Landfall: Three City Council seats are in contention. Incumbents Sarah “Sally” Eral, Lori Lengsfeld and Ronald J. Sanoski Sr. face off against Matthew R. Blaylock, Don Dunn, Lynette Elsola, Greg “Flash” Feldbrugge, Mary Mars, Carol Jean McMonigal and Donald Swiger.

Marine on St. Croix: Mayor Glenn T. Mills is being challenged by Mihcal A. MacIntoisch. For two City Council seats, incumbents Chris Mowery and Dan Willenbring face Bill Miller and Gwen Roden.

Newport: Three candidates are running for two City Council seats, incumbent Tracy Rahm and challengers Paul Hansen and Dan Lund. Steven Gallagher did not file for re-election.

Oakdale: Mayor Carmen Sarrack did not file for re-election. City Council Members Stan Karwoski and Paul Reinke, along with Marty Jurgensen are running for his seat. Six candidates are vying for two City Council seats: incumbent Lori Pulkrabek and Kristen Cici, Mark S Landis, Jon Mast Jr., Bill N. Rasmussen and Peter Wetzels.

Oak Park Heights: Three candidates are seeking two City Council seats: Incumbents Michael (Mike) Liljegren and Mark R. Swenson are being challenged by David A. Beaudet.

Scandia: Two City Council members, Dan Lee and Sally J. Swanson, are challenging Mayor Randall F. Simonson. Six candidates are seeking two City Council seats: Incumbent Jim Schneider and Darrin Gould, Bob Hegland, Dustin Hegland, Robert Pilz and Michael White.

Stillwater: A current City Council member, Ted Kozlowski, and a former City Council member, John Rheinberger, are running to replace Mayor Ken Harycki, who is not seeking re-election. Mike Polehna and Doug Menikheim, also filed for re-election to their current positions. Menikheim has an opponent, Ryan Collins.

Stillwater Township: One Township Board seat is contested. Incumbent David W. Johnson will face Ben Prchal. Lee Busse is running for the seat being vacated by Jim Hiniker.

Woodbury: Mayor Mary Giuliani Stephens is running unopposed. Two incumbent City Council members, Christopher Burns and Julie Ohs, are being challenged by Bill Braun and Emmanuel Obikwelu.

School Districts

Forest Lake: Four candidates filed for the three school board seats up for election. Incumbent Karen Morehead will seek another term. Also running are Luke Odegaard, Jill Olson and Jerry Wellman.

Mahtomedi: Voters will elect four of six board members, but only one seat is in contention. That is the two-year seat now held by Lucy Payne, who is being challenged by Julio Fesser. Three candidates filed for three four-year seats. They are incumbents Kevin Donovan and Julie McGraw, and Mike Chevalier.

North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale: Five candidates, including incumbents Amy Coborn and Michelle Yener, have filed for three at-large seats up for election. Also competing are Caleb Anderson, Bennie Bennett and Danny Porter.

Stillwater: Four seats are up for grabs, with eight candidates on the ballot. Two are incumbents: George Hoeppner and Tom Lehmann. The other candidates are Fred Anderson, Donald Hovlund, Paul “Woody” Leindecker, Paula O’Loughlin, Shelley Pearson and Aly Xiong.

State Legislature

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters