Graduates of one-room schools will get together in Denmark Township

  • Updated: June 14, 2013 - 9:27 PM

Built in 1852, Valley School in Denmark Township is one of the state’s oldest one-room schoolhouses.

Photo: Jim Gehrz •,

CameraStar Tribune photo galleries

Cameraview larger

Former students who attended one-room rural schools will share their experiences at a round-table discussion at 7 p.m. Tuesday, June 18, at the Denmark Town Hall, 90th and Oakgreen S.

The panel includes Richard Hullander, Carroll Fuhr and Gordon Whitaker representing Valley School District 34, Bill and Fritz Kruschel, who attended nearby North Star District 59, and Valda Van Alstine, who went to Carpenter School in Ellsworth, Wis.

The program is free and open to the public. Visitors are encouraged to bring stories and photos of their own experiences in one-room schools.

The event is sponsored by Denmark Township Historical Society. The society recently completed the purchase of the Valley School, which dates from 1852, and is working to restore the building.


City approves new public works chief

After nearly 30 years, Woodbury has a new director of its Engineering and Public Works Department.

David Jessup is stepping down after guiding the planning and construction of roads, sewers and other vital infrastructure projects through the city’s era of transformation and booming growth.

Klayton Eckles, the department’s deputy director who has been with the city since 2006, was appointed Jessup’s successor last week by the Woodbury City Council. Eckles is required to work under a 12-month probationary period in his new post. He previously worked for Mendota Heights.

Washington County

Providers honored at foster care event

Washington County recently honored its foster care providers with a recognition event at the Lake Elmo Event Center.

The county has 46 adult family providers who provide emergency, respite and ongoing placements to vulnerable adults. The county has 56 child foster care providers.

The county had 200 youth in placement during 2012 and 145 of those youth in family foster care, said County Commissioner Lisa Weik at the recognition event.

Karen and Scott Elliot of Cottage Grove were honored for 35 years of non-kin child foster care. Mary Jo and Ray Dick from Afton were honored for 30 years of foster care. Recognized for 20 years of foster care were Karla Keller of Oak Park Heights and Barb and Mike Miller of Oakdale. Ten-year honorees are: Roger Eliasen, Woodbury; Cathy and Ernie Gillman, Cottage Grove; Carol and Robert LeMere, Forest Lake; and Dawn and Richard Williams, Cottage Grove.

Recognized for five years of foster care were: Edilene Friest, Cottage Grove; Karly and Pete LePage, Woodbury; Marion and Stephan Potyondy, Woodbury; Amy and Richard Reeves, Cottage Grove; and Sohair Youssef and Mounir Marzouk, Oakdale.

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters