With an insider’s eye, Hot Dish tracks the tastiest bits of Minnesota’s political scene and keep you up-to-date on those elected to serve you.

Contributors in Minnesota: Patrick Condon, J. Patrick Coolican, Patricia Lopez, Ricardo Lopez, Abby Simons, Rachel E. Stassen-Berger and Glen Stubbe. Contributors in D.C.: Allison Sherry and Jim Spencer.

Federal disaster declared in 8 Minn. counties recovering from June storms

Posted by: Rachel E. Stassen-Berger Updated: July 21, 2014 - 7:56 PM

President Obama signed a disaster declaration for eight Minnesota counties to assist in recovery from the June storms and floods, according to the White House.

The declaration makes Chippewa, Freeborn, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Renville, and Rock counties eligible for federal funding to aid the state and local governments in recovery.

"(Federal Emergency Management officials) said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed," the White House said in a news release.

By early July, Gov. Mark Dayton had declared a state of emergency in 51 of Minnesota's 87 counties in the wake of severe flooding and damaging storms.

According to Gov. Mark Dayton's office, "the most recent preliminary damage assessment figures from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) shows $37.1 million in eligible expenses:

  • Debris removal: $3.2 million
  • Emergency protective measures: $3.7 million
  • Roads and bridges $16.1 million
  • Water control facilities $5 million
  • Buildings and equipment: $721,000
  • Utilities: $3.2 million
  • Parks, recreational facilities and other facilities: $5.2 million"

The federal government will pay 75 percent of approved costs. The state will pick up the rest.

Members of the Minnesota congressional delegation jointly applauded the administration's move on the disaster declaration.

“Weeks of torrential downpour this summer triggered devastating flooding that inflicted severe damage all across our state,” Democratic U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar said in a news release. “This disaster declaration will deliver critical funding and support to communities impacted by flooding and help our state rebuild and recover.”

The release, issued jointly with Democratic Sen. Al Franken and Democratic Reps. Tim Walz and Collin Peterson, also said: 'The declaration also makes all counties in Minnesota eligible for hazard mitigation funding on a cost-sharing basis to prevent future damage from natural hazards."



Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters






question of the day

Poll: Will the Gophers bring home The Axe?

Weekly Question