How to disable Facebook places

  • Updated: September 17, 2010 - 2:48 PM

If you don't want your location shared with the whole world, here's how to disable Facebook Places.

1 Log into your Facebook account. In the upper right-hand corner click "Account" and select "Privacy Settings." Under "Sharing on Facebook" select "Custom," if it is not already selected, and then "Customize Settings."

2 Under "Things I share," find "Places I check in to" and select "Only Me." Beneath that, unclick "Include me in 'People Here Now' after I check in." Scroll to "Things others share" and select "Disabled" for "Friends can check me in to Places."

3 Go back to Privacy Settings. Under "Applications and Websites," click "Edit your settings." Under "Info accessible through your friends," click "Edit Settings." Unclick "Places I check in to" and anything else you don't want shared. Click "Save Changes."

NEWSDAY

  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions

ADVERTISEMENT

question of the day

Poll: Do you take time out each fall to enjoy the leaves?

Weekly Question

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

 
Close