Wolves budding star Karl-Anthony Towns has been honored, again.

After being unanimously voted the NBA’s rookie of the year Towns, along with New York’s Kristaps Porzingis were both unanimously voted onto the league’s all rookie team.

Both players received all 130 first team votes from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters in the United States and Canada.

Joining Towns and Porzingis are Devin Booker (Phoenix), Nikola Jokic (Denver) and Jahlil Okafor (Philadelphia).

The second team consists of Miami’s Justise Winslow, D’Angelo Russell (Los Angeles Lakers), Emmanual Mudiay (Denver), Myles Turner (Indiana) and Willie Cauley-Stein (Sacramento).

Here is how the voting went:


Player                                              Team                  First (2 Pts)     Second (1 Pt)   Total

Karl-Anthony Towns                        Minnesota           130                  -                       260

Kristaps Porzingis                             New York           130                  -                       260     

Devin Booker                                   Phoenix              103                  25                    231

Nikola Jokic                                     Denver                73                    40                    186

Jahlil Okafor                                     Philadelphia        71                    44                    186



Player                                              Team                  First (2 Pts)     Second (1 Pt)   Total

Justise Winslow                                Miami                 44                    63                    151     

D’Angelo Russell                              L.A. Lakers         25                    92                    142

Emmanuel Mudiay                           Denver                35                    70                    140

Myles Turner                                    Indiana               28                    83                    139

Willie Cauley-Stein                           Sacramento         2                      46                    50

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (first-place votes in parentheses):

Frank Kaminsky, Charlotte, 47 (2); Josh Richardson, Miami, 47 (4); Stanley Johnson, Detroit, 42 (1); Trey Lyles, Utah, 26; Bobby Portis, Chicago, 13; T.J. McConnell, Philadelphia, 2 (7); Mario Hezonja, Orlando, 4; Larry Nance Jr., Los Angeles Lakers, 3; Norman Powell, Toronto, 3; Justin Anderson, Dallas, 2; Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, Brooklyn, 2; Boban Marjanovic, San Antonio, 2; Jonathon Simmons, San Antonio, 2; Jerian Grant, New York, 1; Marcelo Huertas, Los Angeles Lakers, 1; Raul Neto, Utah, 1; Cameron Payne, Oklahoma City, 1; Joe Young, Indiana, 1.

Older Post

Looking back — and ahead — with the Wolves' big hires

Newer Post

Ricky Rubio's mother passes away