The three finalists for the Hobey Baker Award were announced Thursday, and none has a Minnesota connection.

Michigan freshman forward Kyle Connor, Boston College junior goaltender Thatcher Demko and Harvard senior forward Jimmy Vesey make up the Hobey Hat Trick finalists.

Yale goalie Alex Lyon from Baudette, Minn., and St. Cloud State defenseman Ethan Prow from Sauk Rapids, Minn., were among the final 10 nominated for the award given to college hockey's top player.

The winner and finalists are selected by a 27-member selection committee and a round of fan balloting.

Connor led the nation with 35 goals and 71 points. The Shelby Township, Mich., native was named the Big Ten Player and Freshman of the Year.

Demko, from San Diego, leads college hockey with 10 shutouts and has a 1.85 goal-against average and .936 save percentage. His Eagles are in the Frozen Four.

Vesey, from North Reading, Mass., was named ECAC Player of the Year a second time after totaling 22 goals and 46 points this season.

The last Minnesotans to win the Hobey Baker were St. Cloud State's Drew LeBlanc and Minnesota Duluth's Jack Connolly, both Duluth natives, in 2013 and 2012. Before that Marty Sertich, a Roseville native, won it in 2005 with Colorado College.

The last Gophers player to win it was Jordan Leopold, who grew up in Golden Valley, in 2002.

Jason Gonzalez