Welcome to Artcetera. Arts-and-entertainment writers and critics post movie news, concert updates, people items, video, photos and more. Share your views. Check it daily. Remain in the know. Contributors: Mary Abbe, Aimee Blanchette, Jon Bream, Tim Campbell, Colin Covert, Laurie Hertzel, Tom Horgen, Neal Justin, Claude Peck, Rohan Preston, Chris Riemenschneider, Graydon Royce, Randy Salas and Kristin Tillotson.

Posts about Awards

KARE wins two Murrow Awards

Posted by: Neal Justin Updated: June 11, 2014 - 10:45 AM

KARE, the Twin Cities' NBC affiliate, has won two Edward R. Murrow awards, which are among the most prestigious honors in the electronic media world.

The station was cited in feature reporting was a piece called "Climbing Out" and in hard-news reporting for "Know Before You Tow."

MPR was also recognized for its website.

The awards will be presented Oct. 6 in New York.

Musical teens win Broadway trip

Posted by: Kristin Tillotson Updated: June 10, 2014 - 5:59 PM

High-school seniors Angela Steele and Davis Brinker are Broadway bound, at least for a few days, after winning the Triple Threat competition that's part of Hennepin Theatre Trust's celebration of high-school musicals, SpotLight Showcase, which took place at the Orpheum Sunday and Monday nights. The showcase is the annual culmination of SpotLight, HTT's education initiative.

The two bested 10 other finalists to win the all-expenses-paid trip, which will include voice, acting and dance lessons, an audtion with a casting agent, a brief performance at an event called "Broadway Sessions" and, of course, several Broadway shows -- which Brinker said he hopes will include the current Les Miz revival.

Steele last played the antagonist supporting character Amber Von Tussle in "Hairspray" at her school, the St. Paul Conservatory for Performing Artists, while Brinker portrayed Jean Valjean in "Les Miserables" at Washburn High School in Minneapolis. To be eligible for the contest, they first had to be named an outstanding performer in a school musical, do both video and live auditions, then rehearse for a week with the other candidates for the SpotLight performance.

Davis said he plans to begin studying acting at the University of Indiana in Evansville in the fall.  Steele, who moved here from New Zealand with her family a few years ago "because there are a lot more performing opportunities," is taking a year off before college until she can establish citizenship. She's already landed a role in Theater Latte Da's production of "Oliver!" opening in early 2015.

Eight Minnesota visual artists receive McKnight Foundation grants

Posted by: Mary Abbe Updated: June 9, 2014 - 1:20 PM

A MCAD staff member finished installing the last McKnight Foundation visual art exhibition in January 2014. Star Tribune staff photo by Richard Sennott

Eight Minnesota visual artists have received $25,000 each from the McKnight Foundation in a program administered by the Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD). The winners are: David Bowen of Duluth, and Sam Gould, Alexa Horochowski, Michael Hoyt, Alison Malone, Lamar Peterson, Joe Smith, and Tetsuya Hamada, all Twin Cities residents.

A support program for mid-career artists, the McKnight Artist Fellowships for Visual Artists provides each winner with three things besides the money: critiques with national critics; a limited edition book about their work; a speaking opportunity. The public exhibitions that were an element of the program for 32 years were discontinued this year in favor of the book/talk component. When the exhibitions were cancelled, the number of visual art grants also was increased from four to eight.

Five of the 2014/15 Fellowship winners are academics. Bowden is an associate professor of sculpture and computing at the University of Minnesota, Duluth. Horochowski is a sculpture professor at St. Cloud State University. Smith is an art professor at University of Northwestern in St. Paul. Peterson, an assistant professor of drawing and painting, and Yamada, an associate professor of art, both teach at the University of Minnesota's Twin Cities campus.

The other three winners are engaged in various activities. Gould is a writer/ publisher who co-founded Red 76 and is the editor/designer of the Journal of Radical Shimming. Hoyt produces arts-based community development projects. Malone is a photographer who documents American subcultures.

Fellowship winners were picked by three jurors: Xandra Eden, exhibition curator at the Weatherspoon Art Museum, University of North Carolina, Greensboro; Hesse McGraw, vice-president of exhibitions at the San Francisco Art Institute; and Deborah Willis, artist, professor and chair of the Department of Photography & Imaging at the Tisch Center for the Arts at New York University.

Minnesota legendary broadcaster wins award

Posted by: Neal Justin Updated: June 6, 2014 - 11:44 AM



Stanley E. Hubbard, a radio pioneer who created one of the most successful broadcasting companies in history, will be inducted into the National Radio Hall of Fame.

Hubbard, who passed away in 1992, put the Twin Cities on the map when he launched WAMD, airing the popular dance show "Where All Minneapolis Dances." He later went on to create what many believe is the first regularly scheduled daily news broadcast.

Other inductees include Charlie & Hannigan, Barry Farber, Jon Miller, Agnes Moorehead, Dick Orkin and "This American Life" with Ira Glass.

Ceremonies will be held Nov. 9 in Los Angeles.

Composers win McKnight fellowships

Posted by: Claude Peck Updated: May 23, 2014 - 11:32 AM
A California composer was awarded a McKnight grant to work on a song cycle inspired by the annual John Beargrease Sled Dog Marathon in northern Minnesota.

Four Minnesota composers will get $25,000 each as winners of this year's McKnight Composition Fellowships. The fellowships are administered by St. Paul-based American Composers Forum. They were selected from 63 applicants. The judges for this year's selections were composers Amir ElSaffar (New York, N.Y.), Stacy Garrop (Chicago, Ill.) and Daniel Trueman (Princeton, N.J.) The 2014 winners are:

Alex Freeman, who teaches at Carleton College in Northfield, Minn. and has written and recorded chamber, choral and piano works.

Jocelyn Hagen, of Minneapolis, who was a longtime composer-in-residence for The Singers, and is now composer-in-residence at North Dakota State University in Fargo.

Michelle Kinney, of Golden Valley, a cellist and composer who is Musician in Residence at the University of Minnesota's Dance Program and a member of the quartet Jelloslave.

George Maurer, of Minneapolis, a composer and jazz pianist whose work has been performed by orchestras, ballet troupes, jazz ensembles and musical-theater producers.

Another McKnight program awards $15,000 each to two artists from outside Minnesota to spend two months or more in the state working on projects. Robin Eschner of Forestville, Calif., will produce a song cycle related to the the John Beargrease Sled Dog Marathon in northern Minnesota, and Pamela Z of San Francisco will compose a work focusing on Minnesota "farm-to-table" movement as it goes from farms to farmer's markets and restaurants.

The McKnight Foundation, founded in 1953, contributes about $1.7 million each year to individual artists via fellowships and other programs. American Composers Forum, founded in 1973 as Minnesota Composers Forum, has a worldwide membership of 1,700 artists, organizations and community members.


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters