Welcome to Artcetera. Arts-and-entertainment writers and critics post movie news, concert updates, people items, video, photos and more. Share your views. Check it daily. Remain in the know. Contributors: Mary Abbe, Jon Bream, Tim Campbell, Colin Covert, Laurie Hertzel, Tom Horgen, Neal Justin, Claude Peck, Rohan Preston, Chris Riemenschneider, Graydon Royce, Randy Salas and Kristin Tillotson.


Posted by: Colin Covert under Movies, Awards, Celebrities Updated: May 9, 2011 - 12:10 PM


Ethan and Joel Coen

Ethan and Joel Coen. Photo: Associated Press


The Dude would surely lift a White Russian to toast his co-creators, man. Because sometimes there's a … there's a ... ah, I lost my train of thought here. Anyhow, Joel and Ethan Coen travel to Israel's Tel Aviv University May 15 to accept the $1 million Dan David Prize for innovation.

The annual award, which recognizes outstanding achievements in numerous disciplines, goes to the brothers in recognition of "a creative partnership unique in the history of filmmaking, (t)heir control over final cut of their films, their grasp of film genres, black comedy, and their capacity to bring narrative complexity to apparently simple plots."

The Coens won Best Picture, Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay Oscars for 2007's "No Country for Old Men." They also directed the cult 1998 classic "The Big Lebowski," last year's box office hit "True Grit" and "A Serious Man" and "Fargo," both filmed in Minnesota.

Also honored in this year's award ceremony are Prof. Cynthia Kenyon of the University of California, San Francisco, and Harvard Medical School Prof. Gary Ruvkun for their work in the field of gerontology, and Prof. Marcus Feldman of the Stanford University School of Medicine for his work in evolution research.

  • 0
  • Comments

Be the first to comment





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters