Sally Award winners announced

  • Updated: March 22, 2010 - 7:26 PM

The annual arts awards this year go to Myron Johnson, T. Mychael Rambo, Bedlam Theatre and VSA.

The Sally Awards, given annually to recognize "outstanding contributions to the state's cultural life," were announced Monday by Patricia Mitchell, president and CEO of the Ordway Center in St. Paul. The winners are:

• Choreographer Myron Johnson, founder and longtime artistic director of Minneapolis-based Ballet of the Dolls, in the Commitment category.

T. Mychael Rambo, a veteran actor and also affiliate professor for the College of Liberal Arts, Theatre Arts and Dance at the University of Minnesota, in the Education category.

Bedlam Theatre, a Minneapolis-based proponent of radical theater and community-building, for Initiative.

VSA arts of Minnesota, which promotes the arts among those with disabilities, in the Vision category.

The Sally Awards, now in their 17th year, are named for Sally Irvine Ordway, an arts advocate and supporter who helped build the Ordway Center.


  • get related content delivered to your inbox

  • manage my email subscriptions


question of the day

Poll: What do you think of ESPN reporter Britt McHenry's one-week suspension?

Weekly Question





Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters