1933-34: Fans vote but managers not bound to that vote.

1935: Managers select teams.

1936: Fans elect 16 players; managers select five.

1937-46: Managers select teams.

1947-57: Fans vote for eight starting positions; managers pick rest of team.

1958-69: Players, managers and coaches vote for eight starters; managers pick rest of team.

1970-2001: Fans vote for the position starters; managers pick rest of the team.

2002: MLB introduces the Final Vote, picking five candidates for the final roster spot on each team, determined by a fan vote.

2003: MLB begins using a player vote to determine one reserve at each position and a set of pitchers.

Source: "The Midsummer Classic: The Complete History of Baseball's All-Star Game"