Junior forward Michael Mersch of Park Ridge, Ill., was named Wisconsin's MVP for this past season after a vote by his teammates.

He led the Badgers in goals with 23 and points with 36.

Named captain of the Badgers for the 2013-14 season was junior defenseman Frankie Simonelli of Bensenville, Ill. The assistant captains will be junior forward Jefferson Dahl and sophomore defenseman Jake McCabe. Both are from Eau Claire, Wis.

Other award winners:

Scholastic Award: senior forward Ryan Little of Fond du Lac, Wis. ... He was a repeat winner/

Most Consistent Player:  freshman defenseman Kevin Schulze  of White Bear Lake ...  He had a team-high plus-21 rating.

Most Improved Player:  junior forward Jefferson Dahl  of Eau Claire, Wis. ... He more than doubled his career goal total with seven goals, while his 14 points doubled his career totals from his first two seasons.

Most Competitive Player:  Little. He led the team with 230 hits. ... Repeat winner.

7th-Man Award:  Dahl

Blocked shots leader: defenseman John Ramage, 121

Best faceoff man:  Brendan Woods, won 61.6 percent

Wisconsin will have 10 seniors and six juniors next season. The Badgers will, officially open practice on Oct. 5. Their first game will be against Northern Michigan on Friday, Oct. 11 at the Kohl Center.