When’s the last time Rep. Keith Ellison and Rep. Michele Bachmann agreed on a major vote?

As Hot Dish’s Kevin Diaz wrote earlier this week, Ellison and Bachmann have risen on opposite sides of the political spectrum in Washington.

But on late Thursday night, as the House passed President Obama’s tax-cut compromise, the co-chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus and the Tea Party Caucus joined together to vote against the measure.

Ellison, Bachmann and Democratic Rep. Betty McCollum were three of 148 “no” votes on the tax cut accord, which extended the Bush tax cuts for two years and unemployment for 13 months.

Democratic Reps. Tim Walz, Collin Peterson and Jim Oberstar and Republican Reps. John Kline and Erik Paulsen all backed the deal, which passed 277-148 with broad bipartisan support. In all, 139 Democrats and 138 Republicans voted for the deal, while 112 Democrats and 36 Republicans opposed it.

Of course, while Ellison, McCollum and Bachmann voted the same way, they did so for opposite reasons: Bachmann opposed tying unemployment to the tax cuts, while the Twin Cities Democrats opposed cutting taxes for the rich.

Read more about the deal, which also addresses the estate tax and cuts Social Security taxes, here. The president will sign the bill today.

Older Post

FEC complaint filed against Franken committee

Newer Post

Wattson added as Dayton's general counsel