On Thursday, word came that all three finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial award were Gophers: forward Amanda Kessel, defenseman Megan Bozek and goalie Noora Raty.

That is the first time in the 16-year of the Kazmaier -- the women's hockey equivalent of the Hobey Baker -- that one school had all finalists. A fourth Gopher, freshman Hannah Brandt was among the top 10 final candidates before that group was shrunk to three. The winner will be named during the Frozen Four later this month.

Then on Thursday night, more awards for the U of M at the league banquet at TCF Bank Stadium on the eve of the Final Face-off.

Brad Frost was named the WCHA's Coach of the Year. His team is 36-0-0 this season and has been ranked No. 1 from the start.

Junior forward Amanda Kessel was named the WCHA Player of the Year, senior Megan Bozek the Defensive Player of the Year and forward Hannah Brandt the Freshman of the Year. Of course, all three were picked for the all-WCHA first team. Joining them on the all-conference first team was  teammate Noora Raty, the team's goalie. The senior is the Gophers' first three-time, first team pick.

Three teamnates were named to the All-WCHA third team: junior Kelly Terry, senior Mira Jalsouo and sophomore Rachel Ramsey.

Besied Brandt, the Gophers also had two other all-rookie team picks:  Maryanne Menefee and Milica McMillen.

The complete list of WCHA award winners:

WCHA Player of the Year: Amanda Kessel, Jr., F, Minnesota
WCHA Outstanding Student Athlete of the Year: Jocelyne Lamoureux, Sr., F, North Dakota
WCHA Defensive Player of the Year: Megan Bozek, Sr., D, Minnesota
WCHA Rookie of the Year: Hannah Brandt, Fr., F, Minnesota
WCHA Scoring Champion: Amanda Kessel, Jr., F, Minnesota
WCHA Goaltending Champion: Noora Räty, Sr., Minnesota
WCHA Coach of the Year: Brad Frost, Minnesota

All-WCHA First Team
Forwards - Amanda Kessel, Jr., Minnesota, (34-41-75); Brianna Decker, Sr., Wisconsin (20-18-38); Hannah Brandt, Fr., Minnesota (18-38-56)
Defensemen - Megan Bozek, Sr., Minnesota (14-23-37); Monique Lamoureux, Sr., North Dakota (17-27-44)
Goaltender- Noora Räty, Sr., Minnesota (27-0-0, 1.05 GAA, .950 Sv%).

All-WCHA Second Team
Forwards - Jocelyne Lamoureux, Sr., North Dakota (22-32-54); Michelle Karvinen, Jr., North Dakota (14-21-35); Jenna McParland, So., Minnesota Duluth (10-15-25)
Defensemen - Brigette Lacquette, So., Minnesota Duluth (5-14-19); Jessica Wong, Sr., Minnesota Duluth (7-1522)
Goaltender - Alex Rigsby, Jr., Wisconsin (17-9-2, 1.60 GAA, .940 Sv%).

All-WCHA Third Team
Forward - Lauren Smith, Sr., Minnesota State (17-9-26); Josefine Jakobsen, So., North Dakota (11-15-26); Kelly Terry, Jr., Minnesota (5-19-24)
Defense - Mira Jalosuo, Sr., Minnesota (L6-13-19); Rachel Ramsey, So., Minnesota (8-15-23)
Goaltender - Kayla Black, Fr., Minnesota Duluth (12-12-2, 2.37 GAA, .916 Sv%).

All-WCHA Rookie Team
Forward - Hannah Brandt, Fr., Minnesota (18-38-56); Maryanne Menefee, Fr., Minnesota (11-14-25); Meghan Dufault, Fr., North Dakota (12-12-24)
Defense - Milica McMillen, Fr., Minnesota (8-6-14); Courtney Burke, Fr., Wisconsin (3-14-17)
Goaltender - Kayla Black, Fr., Minnesota Duluth (12-12-2, 2.37 GAA, .916 Sv%).

Conference member-team head coaches, assistant coaches and team captains vote for the WCHA individual award winners. The WCHA Defensive Player of the Year Award is chosen by the head coaches.